Coleman Hawkins Body & Soul

Body & Soul
7 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  CC4A
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 1, 1995
  • Label: Pearl


  • 1.Way I Feel Today, The - (with McKinney's Cotton Pickers)
  • 2.Hello Lola - (with Mound City Blue Blowers)
  • 3.One Hour - (with Mound City Blue Blowers)
  • 4.House of David Blues - (with Connie's Inn Orchestra)
  • 5.Nocturne - (with Spike Hughes & His All American Orchestra)
  • 6.Arabesque - (with Spike Hughes & His All American Orchestra)
  • 7.Donegal Cradle Song - (with Spike Hughes & His All American Orchestra)
  • 8.Queer Notions - (with Fletcher Henderson & His Orchestra)
  • 9.Day You Came Along, The - (with Coleman Hawkins & His Orchestra)
  • 10.Heartbreak Blues - (with Coleman Hawkins & His Orchestra)
  • 11.Crazy Rhythm - (with Coleman Hawkins & His All-Star Jam Band)
  • 12.Sweet Georgia Brown - (with Coleman Hawkins & His All-Star Jam Band)
  • 13.Body and Soul - (with Coleman Hawkins & His Orchestra)
  • 14.When Day Is Done - (with Coleman Hawkins' All-Star Octet)
  • 15.Bouncin' With Bean - (with Coleman Hawkins' All-Star Octet)
  • 16.Pom Pom - (with The Varsity Seven)
  • 17.Smack - (with Chocolate Dandies)
  • 18.I Can't Believe That You're in Love With Me - (with Chocolate Dandies)
  • 19.Esquire Bounce - (with Leonard Feather's All Stars)
  • 20.Boff Boff (Mop Mop) - (with Leonard Feather's All Stars)
  • 21.My Ideal - (with Leonard Feather's All Stars)
  • 22.Esquire Blues - (with Leonard Feather's All Stars)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Coleman Hawkins (tenor saxophone); Thelma Carpenter (vocals); Jackie Fields, Bud Johnson (alto saxophone); Allen Eager (tenor saxophone); Charlie Shavers, Fats Navarro, Jimmy Nottingham (trumpet); Jimmy Buffington (French horn); J.C. Higginbotham, J.J. Johnson, Urbie Green (trombone); Sid Jekowsky (flute, clarinet); Hal McKusick, Zoot Sims, Al Cohn, Al Young, Romeo Penque (reeds); Marty Wilson (vibraphone); Gene Rodgers, Jimmy Jones, Hank Jones (piano); Lawrence Lucie, Mary Osborne, Chuck Wayne, Barry Galbraith (guitar); Oscar Smith, Johnny Williams, Al McKibbon, Milt Hinton, Jack Lesberg, Arnold Fishkin (bass); Art Herbert, Walter Johnson, Shelly Manne, Max Roach, Osie Johnson (drums).
Recorded at RCA Studios, New York, New York between 1939 and 1956. Includes liner notes by Dan Morgenstern.
Digitally remastered from original metal parts and master tapes by Ed Begley and Bernardo Cosachov.
Personnel includes: Coleman Hawkins (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Don Redman (vocals, baritone saxophone, clarinet); Benny Carter (alto saxophone, trumpet, clarinet); Chu Berry (tenor saxophone); Henry "Red" Allen, Roy Eldridge, Cootie Williams (trumpet); Rex Stewart (cornet); Glenn Miller, J.C. Higginbotham (trombone); Pee Wee Russell (clarinet); Fats Waller, Fletcher Henderson, Stephane Grappelli, Art Tatum (piano); Eddie Condon (banjo); Oscar Pettiford (bass); Gene Krupa, Sid Catlett (drums).
Compilation producers: Tony Watts, Colin Brown.
Recorded between November 6, 1929 and December 4, 1943. Includes liner notes by Tony Watts.
Personnel: Coleman Hawkins (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Don Redman (vocals, clarinet, baritone saxophone); Clarence Holiday (guitar, banjo); Django Reinhardt, Jack Bland, Lawrence Lucie, Bernard Addison (guitar); Al Casey (electric guitar); Eddie Condon, Dave Wilborn (banjo); Edgar Sampson (violin, clarinet, alto saxophone); Russell Procope (clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Benny Carter (clarinet, alto saxophone, trumpet); Hilton Jefferson, Wayman Carver (clarinet, alto saxophone); Edmond Hall, Pee Wee Russell, Danny Polo (clarinet); Jackie Fields, Andre Ekyan (alto saxophone); Chu Berry (tenor saxophone); Cootie Williams, Leonard Davis , Howard Scott , Henry "Red" Allen, Tommy Lindsay, Russell Smith, Bill Dillard, Joe "Fox" Smith , Roy Eldridge, Shad Collins, Bobby Stark (trumpet); Rex Stewart (cornet); Dicky Wells, George Washington , Glenn Miller, J.C. Higginbotham, Sandy Williams , Wilbur De Paris, Benny Morton, Claude Jones (trombone); Fats Waller, Fletcher Henderson, Gene Rodgers, Horace Henderson, Joe Sullivan , Luis Russell, Art Tatum, St‚phane Grappelli, Tommy Flanagan (piano); Joseph Marshall, Gene Krupa, George Wettling, Arthur Herbert, Jo Jones , Big Sid Catlett, Tommy Benford, Walter Johnson (drums).
Liner Note Author: Tony Watts.
Recording information: Teatro Municipal, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil.
Photographer: Hans Harzheim.
Named after Hawkins' 1939 proto-bebop classic, this legendary collection proves why Hawkins is considered by many the finest tenor ever. Picking up his career after a stint alongside Louis Armstrong in Fletcher Henderson's big band and five years in prewar Europe, BODY AND SOUL focuses on Hawkins' essential small group sides of the '40s. Here the former swing enthusiast helped create bebop with the help of future jazz icons Benny Carter, J.J. Johnson, Zoot Sims and Max Roach. From "Meet Doctor Foo" to "Angel Face," Hawkins transforms standards like "My Blue Heaven" into something startlingly new and creates originals like "Bouncing With Bean" that would go on to influenced an entire generation of players. The mid-'50s orchestral sessions that end the album show Hawkins' eagerness to bring bebop's structures into new arenas, and the lovely, string-laden remake of the title track indicates that the experiment was a success.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Coleman Hawkins

Product Info

  • UPC: 727031102229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)