Bobby Hackett Live at the Roosevelt Grill, Volume 4

Live at the Roosevelt Grill, Volume 4
1 rating
17 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.87 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $2.12 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  X3WE
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Chiaroscuro Records


  • Buy for $0.991.You Stepped Out of a Dream
  • Buy for $0.992.I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  • Buy for $0.993.Take the "A" Train
  • Buy for $0.994.Mister Lucky
  • Buy for $0.995.Stompin' at the Savoy
  • Buy for $0.996.Love Is Just Around the Corner
  • Buy for $0.997.Sunday
  • Buy for $0.998.The Girl from Ipanema
  • Buy for $0.999.Love Is Here to Stay
  • Buy for $0.9910.Manha de Carnaval
  • Buy for $0.9911.Autumn in New York
  • Buy for $0.9912.Saturday Night Is the Loneliest Night of the Week
  • Buy for $0.9913.I Left My Heart in San Francisco - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Manhattan - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Keepin' Out of Mischief Now - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9916.I Thought About You - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Personnel: Bobby Hackett (cornet); Vic Dickenson (trombone); Dave McKenna (piano); Jack Lesberg (bass); Cliff Leeman (drums).
Recorded live at the Roosvelt Grill, New York, New York between March and May 1970.
Personnel: Bobby Hackett (cornet); Vic Dickenson (trombone); Dave McKenna (piano); Cliff Leeman (drums).
Liner Note Author: Hank O'Neal.
Recording information: Roosevelt Grill, New York, NY (03/1970-05/1970).
Editor: Jon Bates.
Photographer: Rollo Phlecks.
Live at the Roosevelt Grill With Vic Dickenson, Vol. 4 catches cornetist Bobby Hackett performing on various nights at the New York City club from March through May of 1970. The '70s were rough for Hackett, who found himself toiling with health problems and financial woes during a time when traditional jazz of any kind was increasingly being ignored by the public. All that is in direct contrast, however, to how beautifully the one-time Bix Beiderbecke disciple plays here. Sharing the front line with trombonist Dickenson, Hackett's trademark supple tone and swinging phrases are clearly audible on such standards as "You Stepped Out of a Dream," "Take the 'A' Train," and the sublime "Sunday." Always one to stay au courant, Hackett even tries out his luscious melodic style on such cocktail/bossa nova numbers as "'Mister Lucky" and "The Girl from Ipanema." Showcasing the stellar rhythm section of pianist Dave McKenna, bassist Jack Lesberg, and drummer Cliff Leeman, the recording does contain some crowd noise, which only adds to the period atmosphere. ~ Matt Collar

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Bobby Hackett

Product Info

  • UPC: 091454017928
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)