Jo Stafford Ballad of the Blues

Ballad of the Blues
6 ratings
Price: $10.78
You Save: $0.20 (2% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  X3VA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Feinery


  • 1.The Blues Is an Old Old Story
  • 2.Street Cries
  • 3.John Henry
  • 4.Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child
  • 5.Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen
  • 6.The Blues Is a Tale of Trouble
  • 7.Kansas City Blues
  • 8.Memphis Blues
  • 9.The Blues Is a Traveling Thing
  • 10.He's Gone Away
  • 11.Seems Like When It Comes in the Morning
  • 12.Every Night When the Sun Goes In
  • 13.Times Change and Things Change
  • 14.Lover Man
  • 15.Blues in the Night
  • 16.Blues Is an Old Old Story, The (Reprise)
  • 17.Conversation With Jo Stafford, A - (April 29, 2003)
  • 18.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 19.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 20.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 21.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 22.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 23.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 24.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 25.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 26.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 27.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 28.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 29.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 30.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 31.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 32.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 33.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 34.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)
  • 35.[Untitled Track] - (hidden track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Jo Stafford (vocals); The Starliters; Paul Weston & His Orchestra.
Recorded at Radio Recorders, Hollywood, California on February 10, 12 & 20, 1959. Includes liner notes by Alan and Marilyn Bergman and Michael Feinstein.
Personnel: Jo Stafford (vocals); Starliters (vocals).
Audio Mixer: Seth Presant.
Liner Note Authors: Alan Bergman; Marilyn Bergman; Michael Feinstein.
Recording information: Radio Recorders, Hollywood, CA (02/10/1959).
Editor: Stephen Paley.
Photographer: Tim Weston.
Arranger: Paul Weston.
Jo Stafford's Ballad of the Blues is a concept album showcasing the influence of the blues through a story told in song, primarily in a pop setting with a full orchestra. Accompanied by her husband Paul Weston and his orchestra, along with the backing vocals of the all-male quartet the Starlighters, Stafford explores traditional fare such as "John Henry," spirituals ("Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child" and "Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen"), standards ("Blues in the Night"), jazz classics ("Memphis Blues" and "Lover Man"), along with new compositions featuring music by Weston and lyrics by Alan and Marilyn Bergman. The music seamlessly segues from one track to the next, even as the mood changes from pop to jazz and back again. Stafford's delicious alto voice stands the test of time very well throughout the sessions. The CD concludes with an informative 2003 half-hour interview with Jo Stafford that explains in detail the genesis of the original release. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Jo Stafford

Product Info

  • UPC: 013431310228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)