Kay Starr The Uncollected Kay Starr: In the 1940s

The Uncollected Kay Starr: In the 1940s
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $7.16 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.98
You Save: $1.82 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  X3V9
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 1, 1994
  • Label: Hindsight Records


  • 1.Them There Eyes - (previously unreleased)
  • 2.Nevertheless (I'm in Love with You) - (previously unreleased)
  • 3.It's a Good Day - (previously unreleased)
  • 4.Maybe You'll Be There - (previously unreleased)
  • 5.Pretty Baby - (previously unreleased)
  • 6.Please Love Me - (previously unreleased)
  • 7.Stars Fell on Alabama - (previously unreleased)
  • 8.Best Things in Life Are Free, The - (previously unreleased)
  • 9.It Happens Every Spring - (previously unreleased)
  • 10.I Only Have Eyes for You - (previously unreleased)
  • 11.Leave Me a Memory or Two - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.For the First Time - (previously unreleased)
  • 13.So Tired - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Personnel: Kay Starr (vocals).
Audio Remasterer: John Junklaus.
Liner Note Author: Dave Dexter, Jr.
Recording information: 1947.
A short and sweet little CD, this release presents 14 musical bon-bons, initially recorded for radio play in the 1940's. Kay Starr is at her freewheeling best as she belts out songs that, at the time were already old favorites, like "I Only Have Eyes For You" and "Pretty Baby." She is at once both economic and expansive in her phrasing on "I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm," laying the lyrics down with rhythmic aplomb, while her volume and inflections add a soul to the score. Her ability to melodiously shout and belt out lyrics is also apparent in "Them There Eyes," which positively rocks as Kay truncate the lines to add a new rhythmic flow to the standard.
Her tender side is equally impressive on this CD as she gracefully chimes the lines of "Stars Fell On Alabama" and "So Tired." She uses a combination of strength and restraint to fashion a potent drama out of "Nevertheless."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Kay Starr

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,375
  • UPC: 014921021426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)