Dinah Shore A Proper Introduction to Dinah Shore: For Sentimental Reasons

A Proper Introduction to Dinah Shore: For
10% OFF
Rating 5.0
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  PROI 2019
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: March 29, 2004
  • Label: Proper Introduction


  • 1.My Man - (studio)
  • 2.I Hear a Rhapsody - (studio)
  • 3.Blues in the Night - (studio)
  • 4.Skylark - (studio)
  • 5.Sleepy Lagoon - (studio)
  • 6.You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To - (studio)
  • 7.I'll Walk Alone - (studio)
  • 8.Shoo Fly Pie & Apple Pie Dawdy - (studio)
  • 9.Laughing on the Outside - (studio)
  • 10.Gypsy - (studio)
  • 11.All That Glitters Is Not Gold - (studio)
  • 12.Doin' What Comes Naturally - (studio)
  • 13.You Keep Coming Back Like a Song - (studio)
  • 14.I Love You For Sentimental Reasons - (studio)
  • 15.Rainy Night in Rio - (studio)
  • 16.Anniversary Song - (studio)
  • 17.Tallahassee - (studio)
  • 18.I Wish I Didn't Love You So - (studio)
  • 19.You Do - (studio)
  • 20.Little White Lies - (studio)
  • 21.Buttons & Bows - (studio)
  • 22.Lavender Blue - (studio)
  • 23.Far Away Places - (studio)
  • 24.Baby It's Cold Outside - (studio)

Product Description:

People often forget that aside from being a most excellent talk show host and actress, Dinah Shore was a pretty darn good singer. This compilation of 24 standards includes "Anniversary Song," "Lavender Blue," "My Man," "I Hear A Rhapsody," and "Blues In The Night."
The general rule on releases from the Proper label is to go with the box sets for the most complete perspective (at a cheap price) but stay away from the single-disc Proper Introduction series, which often mislead neophytes on just what a "proper introduction" to most artists should be. The volume on Dinah Shore, however, is a solid look at her hit-making prime, which began early (for band singers, at least), in 1940, and found her ensconced in the Hit Parade throughout the next 15 years. Her biggest hits -- "Anniversary Song," "The Gypsy," "Buttons and Bows" "I'll Walk Alone" -- are all here, though they're sprinkled throughout the disc. Virtually all of her second-tier performances are also here, including "Shoo-Fly Pie and Apple-Pan Dowdy" and "Blues in the Night" (but, surprisingly, not "Dear Hearts and Gentle People"). The sound quality is good but not great, making Proper Introduction a solid compilation of Dinah Shore's early career. ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Dinah Shore

Product Info:

  • UPC: 805520060196
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item