Eartha Kitt The Essential Eartha Kitt (2-CD)

The Essential Eartha Kitt (2-CD)
6 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $13.57
List Price: $13.94
You Save: $0.37 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  3769S
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 15, 2011
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Monotonous [From New Faces of 1952]
  • 2.Bal Petit Bal [From New Faces of 1952]
  • 3.Annie Doesn't Live Here Anymore
  • 4.Two Lovers
  • 5.I Want to Be Evil
  • 6.C'est Si Bon [It's So Good]
  • 7.Uska Dara: A Turkish Tale
  • 8.Angelitos Negros
  • 9.Santa Baby
  • 10.Under the Bridges of Paris
  • 11.Let's Do It [From In Paris]
  • 12.Smoke Gets in Your Eyes [From Roberta]
  • 13.My Heart Belongs to Daddy [From Leave It to Me]
  • 14.Lovin' Spree
  • 15.Somebody Bad Stole de Wedding Bell (Who's Got de Ding Dong)
  • 16.Looking for a Boy
  • 17.If I Was a Boy [From Mrs. Patterson]
  • 18.My Daddy Is a Dandy [From Mrs. Patterson]
  • 19.Hey Jacque
  • 20.The Heel [L'homme]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Day the Circus Left Town
  • 2.Mambo de Paree
  • 3.Dinner for One Please, James
  • 4.Sweet and Gentle (Me Lo Dijo Adela)
  • 5.Je Cherche Un Homme [I Want a Man]
  • 6.Just an Old Fashioned Girl
  • 7.Mademoiselle Kitt
  • 8.Lazy Afternoon [From the Golden Apple]
  • 9.Lisbon Antigua
  • 10.Lullaby of Birdland
  • 11.Honolulu Rock and Roll
  • 12.I'm a Funny Dame [From Happy Hunting]
  • 13.A Woman Wouldn't Be a Woman [From Shinbone Alley]
  • 14.Toujours Gai [From Shinbone Alley]
  • 15.Take My Love, Take My Love
  • 16.Careless Love
  • 17.The Memphis Blues
  • 18.Chantez Les Bas [Sing 'Em Low]
  • 19.St. Louis Blues
  • 20.Steal Away

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Michael Hill.
Recording information: 01/03/1955; 01/13/1953; 01/20/1955; 03/07/1956; 03/12/1953; 03/13/1953; 03/15/1953; 04/04/1956; 04/05/1956; 05/02/1955; 05/06/1957; 06/15/1952; 07/18/1957; 09/12/1954; 10/05/1953; 10/12/1953; 10/17/1956; 10/19/1954; 10/20/1955; 12/02/1955; 12/06/1957; 12/09/1957; 12/10/1957; 12/29/1953.
With her slinky, alluring stage presence and her wink-in-the-eye purr of a voice, Eartha Kitt was a one-of-a-kind artist and act in the 1950s, an icon who, had she been a young star when the era hit in the '80s, would have made the song video her own: she instinctively understood that the visual and the song go hand in hand in the modern pop world. This two-disc, 40-track set collects the best of her recordings for RCA Victor between 1952 and 1957, including 1952's sultry "Monotonous," 1953's "Santa Baby," "My Heart Belongs to Daddy" and "I Want to Be Evil," the haunting "The Day the Circus Left Town," and the weary, resigned "Dinner for One Please, James" both from 1955, and 1957's "St. Louis Blues," drawn from the motion picture of the same name that hit movie screens in 1958. Kitt went on to more movie, stage, club, and television work, but the heart of her recorded legacy as a singer is collected here. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Eartha Kitt

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 118,715
  • UPC: 886978341921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)