Engelbert Humperdinck An Introduction to Engelbert Humperdinck

An Introduction to Engelbert Humperdinck
1 rating
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  ACXC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Fuel 2000


  • 1.In the Still of the Night
  • 2.I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
  • 3.You'll Never Know
  • 4.Stardust
  • 5.Embraceable You
  • 6.You Belong to My Heart
  • 7.A Lovely Way to Spend an Evening
  • 8.Long Ago (And Far Away)
  • 9.Red Sails in the Sunset
  • 10.Far Away Places
  • 11.My Foolish Heart
  • 12.The Very Thought of You
  • 13.They Say It's Wonderful
  • 14.Harbour Lights
  • 15.The More I See You
  • 16.As Time Goes By

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
With its "one size fits all' sticker proclaiming "The best of the best!/Remastered with extensive liner notes," Fuel's 2006 release, An Introduction to Engelbert Humperdinck, is a bit misleading. It's a collection of well-recorded (and all too often recorded) standards from the Great American Songbook, with none of his chart hits or popular live performances anywhere in sight. Of course, there's no denying that Humperdinck can sing the heck out of tunes like "In the Still of the Night" and "Long Ago (And Far Away)," and the Les Baxter-esque orchestral arrangements certainly conjure up a great deal of appropriately swoony atmosphere but, no matter how well performed, these aren't the songs that made the man famous. The "extensive liner notes" lovingly play out Humperdinck's back story over the course of 11 paragraphs, citing all of his chart-topping triumphs and gushing over his electric live performances as if they were included on the disc. It's misleading, for sure, but the main insult comes from the fact that the standards that are contained on this disc are represented with no documentation whatsoever. There's no who, where, or when attached to any of the songs, effectively introducing the listener to nothing but speculation. Make no mistake, the music here is good (and Humperdinck certainly isn't phoning in any of the performances) but the way the disc is presented, listeners may well be expecting something more akin to a greatest hits than a collection of standards. ~ J. Scott McClintock

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Engelbert Humperdinck

Product Info

  • UPC: 030206155723
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)