Judge Dread The Winkle Man

Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Item:  PWK 705092
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: May 10, 2004
  • Label: Hallmark


  • 1.Big Seven
  • 2.Je T'aime (Moi Non Plus)
  • 3.Big Six
  • 4.Y Viva Suspenders
  • 5.Dread Rock
  • 6.Will I What
  • 7.Rudeness Train
  • 8.Big Ten
  • 9.Up With The Cock
  • 10.Big Eight
  • 11.Come Outside
  • 12.Lover's Rock
  • 13.Big Nine
  • 14.Big One
  • 15.The Winkle Man

Product Description:

Oo, you get all the big 'uns on this compilation, a greatest-hits set from Britain's rudest reggae 'ero. Judge Dread smirked his way through 11 U.K. hits, and virtually all of them are found on this 15-strong set. There's all Dread's "Big" hits of course -- his debut "Big Six," and his ever expanding follow-ups. "Big Nine" wasn't amongst them, but it did feature on his splendid Working Class 'Ero album, as did "Big One," too, obviously too small a dimension to release on 45. The hilarious "Je T'aime (Moi Non Plus)" moaned its way into the U.K. Top Ten, with "Big Ten" completing the Judge's Top 20 run. The title track, the barnyard shenanigans of "Up with the Cock," the snappy homage "Y Viva Suspenders," and the hilarious "Come Outside" all finished further down the British chart, although there was certainly no slippage in quality. The sumptuous "Lover's Rock" failed to even enter the U.K. chart, although it was a huge hit in France and was included on the magistrate's fifth set, 1980s import only Reggae & Ska album, from which the infectious "Will I What" was also drawn. The two remaining tracks were pulled seemingly randomly from two earlier Dread albums. The plethora of magisterial compilations makes for tough choices, this one at least sports all the hits bar Dread's Christmas offerings, and is as good a place to start as any. ~ Jo-Ann Greene
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info:

  • UPC: 5050457050924
  • International Shipping: 1 item