Artie Shaw The Uncollected Artie Shaw & His Orchestra, Volume 1: 1938

The Uncollected Artie Shaw & His Orchestra,
Price: $8.08
List Price: $8.98
You Save: $0.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  36R2E
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 8, 1994
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Hindsight Records


  • 1.Nightmare-Opening Theme
  • 2.April In My Heart
  • 3.Night Over Shanghai - (with Helen Forrest)
  • 4.Small Fry - (with Tony Pastor)
  • 5.What Is This Thing Called Love
  • 6.Nightmare-Closing Theme
  • 7.Nightmare-Opening Theme
  • 8.Just A Kid Named Joe - (with Tony Pastor)
  • 9.When I Go A-Dreamin' - (with Helen Forrest)
  • 10.Leapin' At The Lincoln
  • 11.Nightmare-Opening Theme
  • 12.Lambeth Walk
  • 13.They Say - (with Helen Forrest)
  • 14.Shine On Harvest Moon
  • 15.Nightmare - (with Opening Theme)
  • 16.Out Of Nowhere
  • 17.Simple And Sweet - (with Helen Forrest)
  • 18.Blue Interlude
  • 19.Apple Blossom Time (I'll Be With You In) - (with Tony Pastor)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Artie Shaw (leader, clarinet); Tony Pastor (vocals, saxophone); Helen Forrest (vocals); Les Robinson, Hank Freeman (saxophone); John Best, Chuck Peterson, Bernie Priven (trumpet); George Arus, Harry Rogers (trombone); Al Avola (guitar); Sid Weiss (bass).
Recorded in 1938. Includes liner notes by Patricia Willard.
Personnel: Tony Pastor (vocals, saxophone); Helen Forrest (vocals); Al Avola (guitar); Artie Shaw (clarinet); Ronnie Perry , Les Robinson, Hank Freeman (saxophone); Chuck Peterson, John Best , Bernie Privin (trumpet); George Arus, Russell Brown , Harry Rodgers (trombone); Bob Kitsis, Les Burness (piano); George Wettling, Cliff Leeman (drums); George Hall (programming).
Audio Remasterer: John Jungklaus.
Liner Note Author: Patricia Willard.
Recording information: The Blue Room of the Lincoln Hotel (11/29/1938/12/02/1938).
Editors: Tom Shallcross; Wally Heider.
Photographer: Jack Lomas.
Arrangers: Jerry Gray; Artie Shaw.
One among several reissues coming out in the next couple of years with outtakes, alternate tracks, and previously unissued takes by the Artie Shaw orchestra. The problem with this and similar collections are that since these weren't the songs that made them famous, their appeal is limited. Also, in most cases, these are coming out on expensive, hard-to-locate foreign imports. Still, there's some good material here, so if you can find and afford it, grab it. ~ Ron Wynn

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Artie Shaw

Product Info

  • UPC: 014921013926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)