Merle Haggard Icon

List Price: $7.98
You Save: 80¢ (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  CAPN 36838

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Capitol Nashville


  • 1.I Think I'll Just Stay Here and Drink
  • 2.Workin' Man Blues
  • 3.Okie from Muskogee
  • 4.Ramblin' Fever
  • 5.The Bottle Let Me Down
  • 6.Mama Tried
  • 7.I Take a Lot of Pride in What I Am
  • 8.Sing Me Back Home
  • 9.Misery and Gin
  • 10.I'm a Lonesome Fugitive
  • 11.Branded Man

Product Description:

The 2012 release Icon rounds up 11 songs Merle Haggard recorded for MCA in the late '70s and early '80s -- a period that sometimes gets overlooked between his seminal early stint at Capitol and his later successes at Epic. Unfairly so, as he had several terrific songs during this time, many of which are featured here on this affordable compilation. Highlights include two of his classic drinking songs, "I Think I'll Just Stay Here and Drink" and "Misery and Gin," a live version of "Rainbow Stew," "I'm Always on a Mountain When I Fall," and "From Graceland to the Promised Land." Not all of his greatest sides for MCA are here, but enough are to make this a good representative sampler. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Merle Haggard

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 78,068
  • UPC: 602537368389
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: