Paul McCartney Wings Over America (2-CD)

Wings Over America (2-CD)
73 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $18.88
SUPER SAVINGS: $17.73 Limited Time Only
List Price: $20.98
You Save: $3.25 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  375S7
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Label: Hear Music

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 7/01, p.64
"...Documents the group at its commercial peak..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Venus and Mars / Rock Show / Jet
  • 2.Let Me Roll It
  • 3.Spirits of Ancient Egypt
  • 4.Medicine Jar
  • 5.Maybe I'm Amazed
  • 6.Call Me Back Again
  • 7.Lady Madonna
  • 8.The Long and Winding Road
  • 9.Live and Let Die
  • 10.Picasso's Last Words
  • 11.Richard Cory
  • 12.Bluebird
  • 13.I've Just Seen a Face
  • 14.Blackbird
  • 15.Yesterday

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.You Gave Me the Answer
  • 2.Magneto and Titanium Man
  • 3.Go Now
  • 4.My Love
  • 5.Listen to What the Man Said
  • 6.Let 'Em In
  • 7.Time to Hide
  • 8.Silly Love Songs
  • 9.Beware My Love
  • 10.Letting Go
  • 11.Band on the Run
  • 12.Hi Hi Hi
  • 13.Soily

Product Description:

Wings: Paul McCartney (vocals, guitar, piano, bass); Denny Laine (vocals, guitar, piano, bass); Jimmy McCullough (guitar, bass, background vocals); Linda McCartney (keyboards, background vocals); Joe English (vocals, drums).
Additional personnel: Thadeus Richard (flute, clarinet, saxophone); Howie Casey (saxophone); Steve Howard (trumpet, flugelhorn); Tony Dorsey (trombone).
Engineers include: Jack Maxson, Mark Vigars, Tom Walsh.
Personnel: Denny Laine (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano); Jimmy McCulloch (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Paul McCartney (vocals, acoustic guitar, piano, bass guitar); Linda McCartney (vocals, keyboards); Joe English (vocals, drums); Thaddeus Richard (flute, clarinet, saxophone); Howie Casey (saxophone); Steve Howard (trumpet, flugelhorn); Tony Dorsey (trombone).
Audio Remasterers: Steve Rooke; Guy Massey; Simon Gibson.
Photographer: Robert Ellis .
When McCartney formed Wings back in 1971, it was intended to be a touring unit as much as a recording one. After spending the latter half of his time with the Beatles confined to the studio, McCartney was itching to get back onto the road. By the time September 1975 rolled around, Wings' tours had been on the modest side. This latest one would last over a year and take the band around the world. The triple-album WINGS OVER AMERICA was recorded during this time and despite its heft, the performances within contained no filler and were bristling with energy from start to finish.
Wings' secret weapon was guitarist Jimmy McCulloch, an underrated musician whose playing lit up the opening medley of "Venus And Mars/Rock Show/Jet" and "Hi Hi Hi." Along with material from a mix of Wings albums, McCartney proudly revisited his past by dusting off latter-day Beatles songs which had previously been studio-only manifestations ("Lady Madonna," "Blackbird"). WINGS OVER AMERICA clearly showed that McCartney was the first Beatle to settle comfortably into touring regularly in addition to dealing well with his musical past.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 73 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Paul McCartney

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 48,215
  • UPC: 888072343382
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm