Stan Kenton Uncollected Stan Kenton & His Orchestra, Volume 5 (1945-1947)

Uncollected Stan Kenton & His Orchestra, Volume 5
Price: $8.08
List Price: $8.98
You Save: $0.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  X4G4
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 8, 1994
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Hindsight Records


  • 1.Artistry In Rhythm (Opening Theme)
  • 2.Begin The Beguine
  • 3.Yesterdays
  • 4.On The Sunny Side Of The Street
  • 5.I Surrender Dear
  • 6.Fatal Apple
  • 7.Solitude
  • 8.No Baby, Nobody But You
  • 9.Loverman
  • 10.Two Moose In A Caboose
  • 11.Easy Street
  • 12.Scotch And Water
  • 13.End Of The World
  • 14.Artistry In Rhythm (Closing Theme)

Product Description:

Personnel: Stan Kenton (piano); Ray Wetzel (vocals, trumpet); Gene Howard, June Christy (vocals); Bob Ahern (guitar); Boots Mussulli, Al Anthony (saxophone, alto saxophone); Vido Musso, Bob Cooper (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Bob Gioga (saxophone, baritone saxophone); Chico Alvarez, John Anderson , Bob Lymperis, Russ Burgher, Ken Hanna, Buddy Childers (trumpet); Milt Bernhart, Freddie Zito, Jimmy Simms, Harry Forbes, Kai Winding, Milt Kabak, Bart Varsalona (trombone); Shelly Manne, Ralph Collier (drums); Arnie Chadwick (programming).
Recording information: 1945-1947.
Editor: Tom Shallcross.
It was during the period covered by this Hindsight recording that Stan Kenton caught on and became a household name. These radio performances mostly feature arrangements by Pete Rugolo and Gene Roland although Boots Mussulli contributed a memorable rendition of "I Surrender Dear" and Kenton himself wrote the chart for "Begin the Beguine." Singer June Christy, tenor Vido Musso, trombonist Kai Winding, trumpeter Buddy Childers are the main stars but it is the ensembles and the distinctive arrangements that gave this edition of the Stan Kenton Orchestra its own personality. All of the well-recorded sets in this valuable Hindsight series are recommended to Kenton fans. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Stan Kenton

Product Info

  • UPC: 014921015722
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)