Woody Herman The Everest Years

The Everest Years
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  X4DC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Empire Musicwerks

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - p.98
"[A] very good band it is, with splendid solos from Al Cohn, Bob Brookmeyer and Ernie Royal."


  • 1.Caldonia
  • 2.Black Orchid
  • 3.Blowin' Up A Storm
  • 4.Crazy Rhythm
  • 5.Bijou
  • 6.Woodchoppers Ball
  • 7.Mambo Herd
  • 8.Tito Meets Woody
  • 9.Latin Flight
  • 10.Hail Hail The Herds All Here
  • 11.Yes Indeed
  • 12.It's Delovely
  • 13.Mt. Everest
  • 14.Bamba Samba (Bossa Nova)
  • 15.Original #2
  • 16.Love Song Ballad
  • 17.Prelude Ala Cha Cha
  • 18.Ebony Concerto-Moderato
  • 19.Ebony Concerto-Andante
  • 20.Ebony Concerto-Moderato

Product Description:

Personnel: Woody Herman (vocals, clarinet); Billy Bauer (guitar); Al Cohn, Paul Quinichette, Sam Donahue, Sam Marowitz (reeds); Ernie Royal, Irving Markowitz, Bernie Glow, Nick Travis (trumpet); Frank Rehak, Billy Byers, Bob Brookmeyer (trombone); Nat Pierce (piano); Chubby Jackson (double bass); Don Lamond (drums).
The music on this sampler is drawn from five different albums: five of the dozen selections on The Herd Rides Again, four from the dozen cuts on Herman's Heat & Puente's Beat, four of the five numbers from Woody Woody (leaving off "Summer Sequence"), four of the dozen performances included on Chubby Takes Over (which has the Woody Herman Orchestra headed by bassist Chubby Jackson), and a version of Stravinsky's Ebony Concerto that features clarinetist John LaPorta. Although it would have been preferable to have all of the music released on a three-CD set or maybe on two CDs (since Herman's Heat & Puente's Beat is available in full by itself), this is an excellent sampler with many high points. At the time, Woody Herman did not have a regular big band (it would not be reactivated until later in 1959), so these overlapping orchestras feature alumni from his first three Herds along with a few studio musicians and some jazz stars (such as valve trombonist Bob Brookmeyer and tenor saxophonist Paul Quinichette) who were not part of other Herman bands. There is a lot of variety, including features for guitarist Charlie Byrd (a couple years before he discovered bossa nova), a few selections with Tito Puente's rhythm section, Ebony Concerto, and spirited remakes of earlier Herman hits such as "Caldonia," "Blowin' Up a Storm," and "Woodchopper's Ball." Unfortunately, the liner notes are microscopic (better get a magnifying glass) and there are some good selections missing, but overall this is an excellent sampler of Woody Herman's 1958 Everest recordings. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Woody Herman

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 103,695
  • UPC: 654545069123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)