Duke Ellington Duke Ellington and His Orchestra, Volume 1: 1943

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $15.98
Your Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  CIC 101

CD Details

  • Released: December 1, 1995
  • Label: Circle


  • 1.Rockin' in Rhythm
  • 2.Rockin' in Rhythm - (Take Two / Take Three)
  • 3.Rockin' in Rhythm - (Take Four)
  • 4.Rockin' in Rhythm - (Take Five)
  • 5.Blue Skies
  • 6.Blue Skies - (Take Two / Take Three / Take Four)
  • 7.Boy Meets Horn
  • 8.Boy Meets Horn - (Take Two)
  • 9.Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me
  • 10.Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me - (Take Two)
  • 11.Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me - (Take Three)
  • 12.Summertime
  • 13.Summertime - (Take Two)
  • 14.Sentimental Lady (aka Home)
  • 15.Sentimental Lady (aka Home) - (Take Two)
  • 16.Tea for Two
  • 17.Tea for Two - (Take Two)
  • 18.C Jam Blues
  • 19.Hop, Skip and Jump
  • 20.Blue Skies - (Take Five)
  • 21.Blue Skies - (Take Six)
  • 22.Mood Indigo
  • 23.Mood Indigo - (Take Two)
  • 24.Main Stem
  • 25.Main Stem - (Take Two)

Product Description:

Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Ray Nance (vocals, trumpet); Al Hibbler, Betty Roch? (vocals); Fred Guy (guitar); Jimmy Hamilton (clarinet, reeds, tenor saxophone); Johnny Hodges, Otto Hardwick (reeds, alto saxophone); Elbert Williams (reeds, tenor saxophone); Harry Carney (reeds); Dizzy Gillespie, Taft Jordan, Wallace Jones (trumpet); Rex Stewart (cornet); Juan Tizol, Lawrence Brown (trombone); Sonny Greer (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Jack Towers.
Recording information: New York, NY (11/08/1943-11/09/1943).
In the 1980s, the release of Duke Ellington's complete transcriptions for World Broadcasting was a major addition to his already sizable catalog. The songs on this compilation include everything recorded on November 8, 1943, with two takes from the next day's session. The fidelity is outstanding, as Circle was able to utilize the original glass masters, resulting in sound that exceeds many of Ellington's commercial recordings of the era. That said, the presence of numerous incomplete takes and false starts makes it difficult to listen to the complete CD all the way through. Highlights of this first volume include "Rockin' in Rhythm" (spotlighting trombonist Tricky Sam Nanton); Rex Stewart's cornet in his special feature, "Boy Meets Horn"; Johnny Hodges' lush alto sax in "Sentimental Lady" (also known later as "I Didn't Know About You"); and "Blue Skies" (also known under the title "Trumpet No End"), Mary Lou Williams' arrangement of Irving Berlin's landmark piece. Dizzy Gillespie is a special guest, taking the place of Ray Nance and Shorty Baker on the initial session. This is an essential purchase for Ellington fans. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Duke Ellington

Product Info:

  • UPC: 762247410126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item