Count Basie Count on the Coast, Volume 2

Count on the Coast, Volume 2
Price: $23.38
List Price: $24.98
You Save: $1.60 (6% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  3466D
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 24, 2000
  • Label: Phontastic


  • 1.H.R.H. (Her Royal Highness)
  • 2.Duet
  • 3.Teddy the Toad
  • 4.Smack Dab in the Middle
  • 5.Pensive Miss
  • 6.One O'Clock Jump
  • 7.Counting the Blues
  • 8.Lullaby of Birdland
  • 9.I've Got a Girl
  • 10.You're a Memory
  • 11.Scoot
  • 12.Who, Me?
  • 13.Kid from Red Bank
  • 14.Late Date
  • 15.Stop, Pretty Baby
  • 16.Gee, Baby Ain't I Good to You?
  • 17.Shiny Stockings
  • 18.April in Paris - Count Basie Orchestra

Product Description:

Personnel: Count Basie (piano); Joe Williams (vocals); Freddie Green (guitar); Frank Wess (flute, alto saxophone); Frank Foster, Billy Mitchell (tenor saxophone); Joe Newman , Snooky Young, Thad Jones, Wendell Culley (trumpet); Henry Coker, Al Grey, Benny Powell (trombone); Sonny Payne (drums).
Liner Note Author: Anders R. â„¢hman.
Recording information: 06/24/1958-07/03/1958.
Photographers: Willy Yhr; K. Abe.
Like the earlier companion first volume, this CD includes selections from an extended stay by the Count Basie Orchestra at the Crescendo Club in Los Angeles in 1958. The set includes both hits from several eras ("One O'Clock Jump" and "April in Paris") and newer material by Neal Hefti ("Teddy the Toad" and "Scoot") and Frank Foster ("Who, Me?" and "Shiny Stockings," which became a hit). The band is in great form, though none of the soloists is acknowledged by name. But vocalist Joe Williams steals the show with his enthusiastic, infectious rendition of "Smack Dab in the Middle" and the happy-go-lucky blues "I've Got a Girl." Clearly this was a band that wasn't content to rely strictly on past successes, but was continuing to grow since the band wasn't recorded in concert very often during this time frame. This CD should be of special interest to Count Basie enthusiasts. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Count Basie

Product Info

  • UPC: 978370755526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)