Count Basie The Count Basie and His Orchestra (1944)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $15.98
Your Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  CIC 60

CD Details

  • Released: April 15, 1992
  • Label: Circle


  • 1.One O'Clock Jump
  • 2.Rock-A-Bye Basie
  • 3.I Couldn't Sleep A Wink Last Night
  • 4.Basie Boogie
  • 5.Don't Cry, Baby
  • 6.Down For Double
  • 7.I've Had This Feeling Before
  • 8.I Found A New Baby
  • 9.Swing Shift
  • 10.Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me
  • 11.Red Bank Boogie
  • 12.I Sent For You Yesterday And Here You Come Today
  • 13.Wiggle Woogie
  • 14.Don't Believe Everything You Dream
  • 15.9:20 Special
  • 16.One O'Clock Jump

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Count Basie (leader, piano); Jimmy Rushing, Thelma Carpenter (vocals); Earle Warren, James Powell, Rudy Rutherford, Eli Thompson (reeds); Ed Lewis, Harry "Sweets" Edison, Al Killian, Joe Newman (trumpet); Eli Robinson, Ted Donnelly, Lou Taylor, Dicky Wells (trombone); Artie Shaw (clarinet); Freddie Green (guitar); Rodney Richardson (bass); Shad Wilson (drums).
Includes liner notes by Dave Dexter, Jr.
Digitally remastered by John Jungklaus.
Recorded live at The Hotel Lincoln, New York, New York.
With the advent of World War II musicians sporadically joined and left the Count Basie Orchestra depending on Uncle Sam's activities in Europe and the South Pacific. Despite the constant personnel shift, Basie's band swings with authority here; there's a lot of musical variety in this collection, too.
Jimmy Rushing and Thelma Carpenter each pace the set with two endearing vocal performances. Carpenter's silken alto voice is particularly moving on "Do Nothin' till You Hear From Me." Other selections, such as "Lady Be Good," feature Artie Shaw, a legend in his own right, on clarinet. A classic swing recording, 1944 is a jazz masterpiece as well as a historic keepsake.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Count Basie

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 119,345
  • UPC: 762247406020
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item