David Bowie The Singles Collection (2-CD)

The Singles Collection (2-CD)
31 ratings
Price: $21.58
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  374SC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: November 8, 1993
  • Label: EMI Import

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Space Oddity
  • 2.Changes
  • 3.Starman
  • 4.Ziggy Stardust
  • 5.Suffragette City
  • 6.John, I'm Only Dancing
  • 7.The Jean Genie
  • 8.Drive in Saturday
  • 9.Life on Mars?
  • 10.Sorrow
  • 11.Rebel Rebel
  • 12.Rock & Roll Suicide
  • 13.Diamond Dogs
  • 14.Knock On Wood
  • 15.Young Americans
  • 16.Fame
  • 17.Golden Years
  • 18.TVC 15
  • 19.Sound & Vision

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Heroes
  • 2.Beauty & The Beat
  • 3.Boys Keep Swinging
  • 4.D.J.
  • 5.Alabama Song
  • 6.Ashes to Ashes
  • 7.Fashion
  • 8.Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)
  • 9.Under Pressure
  • 10.Wild Is the Wind
  • 11.Let's Dance
  • 12.China Girl
  • 13.Modern Love
  • 14.Blue Jean
  • 15.This Is Not America
  • 16.Dancing in the Streets
  • 17.Absolute Beginners
  • 18.Day In Day Out

Product Description:

There have been a multitude of David Bowie collections released after his breakthrough in the early '70s. Arguably, however, not one does a better job than this of illustrating just how powerful that breakthrough was (and the follow-through as well), and how absolutely the odd-eyed boy from Brixton changed the face of British pop. Beginning in the summer of 1972, when "Starman" revived the fortunes of the former one-hit ("Space Oddity") wonder, Bowie released one of the most commanding sequences of 45s in British chart history, a run that not only included some of the finest records in his repertoire ("John, I'm Only Dancing," "The Jean Genie," "Drive-In Saturday," "Rebel Rebel," "Fame"), but also reached back into his pre-fame catalog for the occasional space-filler -- "Life on Mars?" was already two years old when it made the U.K. Top Three in 1973. All are here, with the sequence filled out with some genuinely significant B-sides, none more so than "Ziggy Stardust" and "Suffragette City," both of which would have made great A-sides in their own right. On through the '70s and '80s the collection goes, adopting a more populist approach for Bowie's latter-day career. ~ Dave Thompson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 31 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for David Bowie

Product Info

  • UPC: 724382809920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.30/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)