Gong World of Daevid Allen and Gong (3-CD)

World of Daevid Allen and Gong (3-CD)
1 rating
Price: $29.68
List Price: $32.98
You Save: $3.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  S55C
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: May 31, 2005
  • Label: Snapper Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Rational Anthem
  • 2.Glad to Say to Say
  • 3.Gong Song
  • 4.Foghat Digs Holes in Space
  • 5.Tried So Hard
  • 6.Tropical Fish: Selene
  • 7.Radio Gnome Invisible
  • 8.Flying Teapot
  • 9.The Pot Head Pixies
  • 10.The Octave Doctors and the Crystal Machine
  • 11.Zero the Hero and the Witches Spell
  • 12.Witches Song: I Am Your Pussy
  • 13.Other Side of the Sky
  • 14.Sold to the Highest Buddah

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Castle in the Clouds
  • 2.Prostitute Poem
  • 3.Givin' My Love to You
  • 4.Selene
  • 5.Flute Salad
  • 6.Oily Way
  • 7.Outer Temple
  • 8.Inner Temple
  • 9.Love Is How You Make It
  • 10.I Niver Glid Before
  • 11.Eat That Phone Book Coda
  • 12.Thoughts For Naught
  • 13.A P.H.P's Advice
  • 14.Magick Mother Invocation
  • 15.Master Builder
  • 16.A Sprinkling of Clouds
  • 17.Perfect Mystery
  • 18.The Isle of Everywhere
  • 19.You Never Blow Your Trip Forever

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Save Yourself
  • 2.You Don't Remember
  • 3.Time of Your Life
  • 4.Memories
  • 5.Stoned Innocent Frankenstein
  • 6.Fred the Fish
  • 7.White Neck Blooze & His Adventures
  • 8.Tally & Orlando Meet the Cockpot Pixie
  • 9.Why Do We Treat Ourselves Like We Do
  • 10.Poet For Sale
  • 11.Floatin' Anarchy
  • 12.New Age Transformation
  • 13.Opium For the People
  • 14.It's a Fine Air For Fliss
  • 15.333
  • 16.Rashnish With Thanks
  • 17.Much Too Old

Product Description:

Pan-European space-rock ensemble Gong was one of the most fascinating bands of the post-psychedelic era in that they combined stellar musicianship, a freewheeling spirit of invention, and unlike many of their peers, a highly developed sense of humor. Led by Australian singer/songwriter/guitarist Daevid Allen, whose lyrics detailed a richly complex stoner mythology for the band, they released several classic albums in the first half of the 1970s, and the best tracks from that era are collected on the excellent three-disc WORLD OF DAEVID ALLEN & GONG.
The bulk of the first two discs is occupied by the band's Radio Gnome Invisible trilogy in its entirety, a tour de force of the aforementioned mythology supported by echoing guitar lines, atmospheric synthesizer, and wailing, jazzy sax lines. The last disc concentrates on Allen's solo career (he left the group in the mid-'70s, and they went on to pursue an all-instrumental jazz fusion sound). These tracks feature plenty of Allen's Beat-inspired poetic imagery and a more raw musical approach that shifts between folk and rock (and occasionally even proto-punk). Ultimately, these three discs offer the best introduction to Allen and Gong anyone could want.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Gong

Product Info

  • UPC: 803415572526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.30/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)