George Jones Ragged But Right: The Starday Years Plus... (3-CD)

Ragged But Right: The Starday Years Plus... (3-CD)
Price: $20.68
List Price: $22.98
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  374A9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Label: Fantastic Voyage

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.119
3 stars out of 5 -- "[With] shock-haired country, honky tonk and untamed rockabilly..."
Uncut (magazine) - p.90
4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]hree discs devoted to this earliest recordings for the Texas-based Starday label are very welcome..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.No Money In this Deal
  • 2.You're In My Heart
  • 3.Play it Cool Man, Play it Cool
  • 4.Wrong About You
  • 5.Let Him Know
  • 6.You All Goodnight
  • 7.Heartbroken Me
  • 8.Hold Everything
  • 9.What's Wrong With You
  • 10.Why Baby Why
  • 11.Seasons Of My Heart
  • 12.Still Hurtin'
  • 13.What Am I Worth?
  • 14.Your Heart
  • 15.I'm Ragged But I'm Right
  • 16.Rock It
  • 17.How Come It
  • 18.It's OK
  • 19.You Gotta Be My Baby
  • 20.Boat Of Life
  • 21.Taggin' Along
  • 22.Gonna Come Get You
  • 23.Just One More
  • 24.Yearning
  • 25.Uh, Uh, No
  • 26.Don't Stop the Music
  • 27.Too Much Water
  • 28.All I Want to Do
  • 29.Opry Rags

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Flame In My Heart
  • 2.No No Never
  • 3.Hearts In My Dreams
  • 4.Tall Tall Trees
  • 5.Cup of Loneliness
  • 6.Take the Devil Out of Me
  • 7.New Baby for Christmas
  • 8.Maybe Next Christmas
  • 9.Color of the Blues
  • 10.Eskimo Pie
  • 11.Nothing Can Stop My Love
  • 12.I'm With the Wrong One
  • 13.(I'm A) Wandering Soul
  • 14.Jesus Wants Me
  • 15.Treasure of Love
  • 16.If I Don't Love You (Grits Ain't Groceries)
  • 17.White Lightnin'
  • 18.Long Time to Forget
  • 19.Into My Arms Again
  • 20.Who Shot Sam?
  • 21.If You Want to Wear a Crown
  • 22.My Lord Has Called Me
  • 23.Big Harlan Taylor
  • 24.Money to Burn
  • 25.Accidently On Purpose
  • 26.Sparkling Brown Eyes
  • 27.Have Mercy On Me
  • 28.If You Believe

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Ragged But Right [Alt. Take]
  • 2.Yearning [Alt. Take]
  • 3.Hold Everything [Alt. Take]
  • 4.Any Old Time
  • 5.I'll Take the Chance
  • 6.Sweet Dreams
  • 7.Heartbreak Hotel
  • 8.Singing the Blues
  • 9.One is a Lonely Number
  • 10.Maybe Little Baby
  • 11.Run Boy
  • 12.I'm A One-Woman Man
  • 13.Settle Down
  • 14.Heartbroken Me [Alt. Take]
  • 15.Rain, Rain
  • 16.Frozen Heart
  • 17.I've Got Five Dollars (And It's Saturday Night)
  • 18.'Cause I Love You
  • 19.You Never Thought
  • 20.Don't Do This To Me
  • 21.Gotta Talk to Your Heart
  • 22.Good Old Bible
  • 23.Will the Circle Be Unbroken
  • 24.We'll Understand It
  • 25.That's the Way I Feel
  • 26.Give-Away Girl
  • 27.No Use to Cry
  • 28.You're Back Again
  • 29.Life to Go

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Dave Penny.
George Jones' early career was tied directly to record producer Pappy Daily, who discovered Jones and signed him to his local Texas label Starday Records in 1953, releasing Jones' first single in 1954. When Starday was absorbed into Mercury Records, Daily continued to produce Jones' releases for that label, and when Daily became a staff producer for United Artists Records in 1962, Jones followed him to that label. This three-CD, 86-track set includes the A- and B-sides of all of Jones' singles for Starday as well as some of his early sides for Mercury, and it shows Jones searching for a signature style, trying on rockabilly, imitating Hank Williams, recording under pseudonyms like Thumper Jones or Hank Smith, and even tracking cover versions of country hits for mail-order record companies, making this collection a true treasure for fans interested in Jones' early years before he became a country legend and icon. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for George Jones

Product Info

  • UPC: 5055311001074
  • Shipping Weight: 0.37/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)