Harry Nilsson The Essential Harry Nilsson (2-CD)

The Essential Harry Nilsson (2-CD)
6 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  3744C
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 30, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: RCA

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.1941
  • 2.Cuddly Toy
  • 3.You Can't Do That
  • 4.Without Her
  • 5.Daddy's Song
  • 6.Good Old Desk
  • 7.Mr. Richland's Favorite Song
  • 8.Together
  • 9.Everybody's Talkin' [From "Midnight Cowboy"]
  • 10.One [Mono Single Version]
  • 11.Girlfriend - (remix)
  • 12.I Guess the Lord Must Be In New York City
  • 13.Rainmaker [Mono Version]
  • 14.I Will Take You There [Mono Single Version]
  • 15.The Puppy Song
  • 16.Vine Street
  • 17.Living Without You
  • 18.Life Line [Alternate Piano Take 13]
  • 19.Me and My Arrow
  • 20.Think About Your Troubles

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Gotta Get Up
  • 2.Without You
  • 3.Jump Into the Fire [Single Version]
  • 4.Coconut
  • 5.I'll Never Leave You
  • 6.Old Forgotten Soldier
  • 7.Remember (Christmas)
  • 8.You're Breakin' My Heart
  • 9.Spaceman
  • 10.Daybreak [Single Version]
  • 11.As Time Goes By
  • 12.Many Rivers to Cross
  • 13.Don't Forget Me
  • 14.Black Sails
  • 15.Kojak Columbo
  • 16.Easier For Me
  • 17.(Thursday) Here's Why I Did Not Go to Work Today
  • 18.Sail Away
  • 19.All I Think About Is You
  • 20.Perfect Day

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Andrew Sandoval.
Photographers: Tom Hanley; Robert Beckhard.
A missing element in Harry Nilsson's catalog is an excellent double-disc retrospective. That's precisely what the 2013 compilation Essential Harry Nilsson provides: two discs that tell his story from beginning to end, hitting all the high points along the way. The first disc concentrates on his '60s work, chronicling the rise of Nilsson the maverick interpreter and songwriter; his original versions of "Cuddly Toy," "I Guess the Lord Must Be in New York City," and "One" are here, as are his breakthrough cover of Fred Neil's "Everybody's Talkin'" and several selections from the landmark Nilsson Sings Newman, plus such remarkable pieces of popcraft like "1941," "Good Old Desk," "Without Her," and "Me and My Arrow." The entire second disc is devoted to the '70s, beginning with the smash 1971 album Nilsson Schmilsson and its hits -- "Without You," "Coconut," "Jump in the Fire" -- plus the album-opener "Gotta Get Up." From there, hits, non-LP singles, and the occasional oddities pile up -- "You're Breakin' My Heart," "Spaceman," "Daybreak," his straight version of "As Time Goes By," "Kojak Columbo" -- tracing his majestic rise and being kind with his fall. Although this doesn't have every great song Nilsson made (a few absent favorites are "Driving Along," "The Lottery Song," "Take Fifty Four," "Jesus Christ You're Tall"), no other compilation has captured his peculiar genius as thoroughly as this, which does indeed make it something close to the Essential Harry Nilsson. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Harry Nilsson

Product Info

  • UPC: 887654849427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)