Mott The Hoople The Essential Mott the Hoople (2-CD)

The Essential Mott the Hoople (2-CD)
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.18 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.80 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  3744F
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 30, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Sony

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.You Really Got Me
  • 2.Rock And Roll Queen
  • 3.Thunderbuck Ram
  • 4.Walkin' With A Mountain
  • 5.Whiskey Women
  • 6.Waterflow
  • 7.The Moon Upstairs
  • 8.Sweet Angeline
  • 9.All The Young Dudes
  • 10.Momma's Little Jewel
  • 11.One Of The Boys [Single Verison]
  • 12.Ready For Love / After Lights
  • 13.Sucker
  • 14.Sweet Jane
  • 15.Violence
  • 16.I Wish I Was Your Mother
  • 17.Rose

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.All The Way From Memphis
  • 2.Honaloochie Boogie
  • 3.Whizz Kid
  • 4.Hymn For The Dudes
  • 5.The Golden Age Of Rock 'n' Roll
  • 6.Rest In Peace
  • 7.Alice
  • 8.Marionette
  • 9.Crash Street Kids
  • 10.Roll Away The Stone
  • 11.Born Late '58
  • 12.Where Do You All Come From
  • 13.Through The Looking Glass
  • 14.Foxy Foxy
  • 15.(Do You Remember) The Saturday Gigs? [Alternate Version]
  • 16.Lounge Lizard
  • 17.American Pie / The Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: James Mastro.
Photographers: Art Maillet; Chris Walter; Jacques Bernard.
Mott the Hoople are no stranger to compilations, many purporting to be definitive or essential, or at least delivering some variation on the golden age of rock & roll. The 2013 Columbia/Legacy double-disc is part of Legacy's ongoing Essential series and, certainly, fans will find places to nitpick, such as the absence of "Death May Be Your Santa Claus" or other parts of the tremendous Brain Capers, which is only represented by the wonderful "Sweet Angeline" or "Ballad of the Mott the Hoople (26th March 1972, Zurich)," which is weirdly M.I.A. But that's nitpicking, isn't it? Judged in its entirety, this 34-track retrospective tells the story of Mott's prime -- cutting off when lead singer/songwriter Ian Hunter flew the coop, but few would truly be upset by that -- and hits all the high points, beginning with their heavy, heavy instrumental version of the Kinks' "You Really Got Me" and winding up with a live version of "American Pie" that wraps up the set. Along the way there are a couple non-LP cuts -- "Foxy Foxy," "(Do You Remember) The Saturday Gigs?," the B-sides "Rose" and "Lounge Lizard" -- live versions, deep cuts, and, of course, the canon: "Rock & Roll Queen," "Walkin' with a Mountain," "One of the Boys," "Sucker," "Ready for Love/After Lights," "Sweet Jane," "I Wish I Was Your Mother," "All the Way from Memphis," "Honaloochie Boogie," "Whizz Kid," "The Golden Age of Rock N Roll," "Roll Away the Stone,' and "Born Late '68." If you're looking for a concentrated blast of everything that made Mott the Hoople monumentally great, there's no bettering this set, which will re-confirm the notion that, on some days, Mott the Hoople is the greatest rock & roll band that ever existed. Usually, it's days that you listen to a compilation like The Essential Mott the Hoople. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Mott The Hoople

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 93,327
  • UPC: 887654227720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)