LL Cool J Authentic

49 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  37434
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: 429 Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.70
3 stars out of 5 -- "[H]e remains a personality first, who injects all his songs -- party anthems, boasts, come-ons -- with friendliness and fun."
Billboard (p.45) - "[H]e spits classic rap flavor on the Snoop Lion-assisted 'We Came to Party'..."


  • Buy for $1.291.Bath Salt
  • Buy for $1.292.Not Leaving You Tonight - (featuring Eddie Van Halen / Fitz & the Tantrums)
  • Buy for $1.293.New Love - (featuring Charlie Wilson)
  • Buy for $1.294.We Came to Party - (featuring Fatman Scoop / Snoop Dogg)
  • Buy for $1.295.Give Me Love - (featuring Seal)
  • Buy for $1.296.Something About You (Love the World) - (featuring Earth, Wind & Fire / Melody Thornton / Charlie Wilson)
  • Buy for $1.297.Bartender Please - (featuring Snoop Dogg / Travis Barker / Bootsy Collins)
  • Buy for $1.298.Whaddup - (featuring Tom Morello / Travis Barker / Z-Trip / Chuck D)
  • Buy for $1.299.Between the Sheetz - (featuring Mickey Shiloh)
  • Buy for $1.2910.Closer - (featuring Monica)
  • Buy for $1.2911.Live for You - (featuring Brad Paisley)
  • Buy for $1.2912.We're the Greatest - (featuring Eddie Van Halen / Travis Barker)
  • 13.Jump On It
  • 14.Hell Yeah
  • 15.Whaddup

Product Description:

Personnel: Z-Trip (scratches).
Liner Note Author: LL Cool J.
Recording information: Fenix Studios, NY; Henson Studios; Opra Music Studios; Westlake Recording Studios.
Photographers: Leann Mueller; Janette Beckman.
When LL Cool J dubs his 2013 effort Authentic, the veteran rapper is referring to an album that's authentically LL Cool J circa 2013, and not one that's authentically hip-hop. That's important to remember as the everything-but-the-kitchen-sink effort overflows with guests from every genre, like Public Enemy's Chuck D, blink-182's Travis Barker, Rage Against the Machine guitarist Tom Morello, and electro-rocker Z-Trip. That busy jumble of names is not only on the same album, but on the same track, as in "Whaddup," a pop-protest number that's admirable enough, and one that sounds more natural than "Accidental Racist," LL's much-maligned duet with Brad Paisley. Authentic gets its own Paisley team-up with "Live for You," a glossed-up, jukebox country redo of LL's "I Need Love," although when it comes to updates to Cool J's classics, the "Mama Said Knock You Out" return "We're the Greatest" is a better choice, with Eddie Van Halen wailing away as the rapper does a Mike Tyson impression, intentional or not. This variety hour on wax comes alive when characters like Bootsy Collins (making the party number "Bartender Please" sound Deee-Lite-ful), Snoop Dogg (on the club worthy "We Come to Party"), and Charlie Wilson (swaggerfest "New Love" wins just for the line "honk your horn if she's walking by right now") show up, but even so, the album doubles down on some of its best ideas, and Eddie, Snoop, Travis, and Uncle Charlie all return for lesser numbers. LL sounds rusty and a bit under-rehearsed as he belts out his iffy punch lines and motivational anthems, but he pours his heart into the pop numbers and sounds at home during the nostalgic throwbacks. Don't call it a comeback of any sort, but good intentions abound and in a primetime television star manner, the album's title remains true. ~ David Jeffries

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 49 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for LL Cool J

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 123,030
  • UPC: 795041792921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.14/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)