Deep Purple Now What?! [Deluxe Edition] (CD + DVD)

Now What?! [Deluxe Edition] (CD + DVD)
123 ratings
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  3742C
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: May 14, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Eagle Records


  • 1.A Simple Song
  • 2.Weirdestan
  • 3.Out of Hand
  • 4.Hell To Pay
  • 5.BodyLine
  • 6.Above and Beyond
  • 7.Blood From A Stone
  • 8.Uncommon Man
  • 9.Apres Vous
  • 10.All The Time In The World
  • 11.Vincent Price
  • 12.It'll Be Me

Product Description:

Personnel: Ian Gillan (vocals); Steve Morse (guitar); Don Airey (keyboards); Ian Paice (drums); Bob Ezrin (percussion, background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Justin Cortelyou; Bob Ezrin.
Deep Purple have never quite been placed in the revered 1960s canon that includes the Who, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, or any of the other British rock bands who continue to reunite in various configurations to tour and even periodically release new albums, but given that the group has always been a riveting and brilliant live act, part prog, part heavy metal, part funky R&B, and imminently theatrical, that second-tier designation seems like both an oversight and a shame. Returning with this set, the band's first since 2005's Rapture of the Deep, and featuring a near-classic lineup of vocalist Ian Gillan, guitarist Steve Morse, bassist Roger Glover, drummer Ian Paice, and keyboardist Don Airey (Jon Lord, whose distorted organ parts were so much a part of the classic Deep Purple sound, left the band in 2002 and died in 2012 of pancreatic cancer), one can only marvel at how timeless it sounds, as if it were actually recorded in the early '70s and not tracked a little more than a decade into the 21st century. Produced by Bob Ezrin, Now What?! sounds exactly like Deep Purple in the band's prime, moving from swirling, massive soundscapes to tight, riff-laden sections and back again with a swaggering confidence that is really pretty amazing, particularly given the senior-citizen ages of the band's members. The opener, "A Simple Song," is vintage Deep Purple, while "Weirdistan" and "Hell to Pay" simply rock by anyone's definition of the term, while the closing track, the massive, powerful, and just slightly eerie "Vincent Price," seems like a prog rock metal opera scaled down to single-track size. It's easy to imagine this version of Deep Purple slipping any of these songs into their live set alongside the group's classic tracks from days past without skipping a beat. Now What?! shows a band that still knows what to do, and that the album doesn't cater to the current studio tricks and processes only makes it feel and sound even more like it comes from the golden age of British prog metal. Some things really shouldn't change, and Deep Purple recognize that. They haven't changed a bit, and the group's many fans are going to find this release comforting in that regard. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 123 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Deep Purple

Product Info

  • UPC: 826992031828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)