Sun Ra: A Space Odyssey (3-CD)
by Sun Ra / Various Artists

Sun Ra: A Space Odyssey (3-CD)
Price: $20.69
List Price: $22.99
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  373KK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: February 18, 2013
  • Label: Fantastic Voyage

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Saturn (Le Sun-Ra and His Arkistra)
  • 2.Chocolate Avenue (Clarence Williams and His Orchestra)
  • 3.Dig This Boogie (Wynonie Mr Blues Harris)
  • 4.Lightnin' Struck The Poor House (Wynonie Mr Blues Harris with Jimmie Jackson and His Orchestra)
  • 5.Blowtop Blues (Lil Green and Her Orchestra)
  • 6.Deep Purple (Sonny Blount and Stuff Smith)
  • 7.In Every Man's Life (Andy Tibbs and The Dozier Boys)
  • 8.Dawn Mist (Eugene Wright and His Dukes Of Swing)
  • 9.D.D.D. (Dorothy Donegan)
  • 10.Aching Heart (Sax Mallard and His Sextet with Andrew Tibbs)
  • 11.I Want To Rock (Miss Sharecropper LaVern Baker)
  • 12.Hey Bartender (Red Saunders and His Orchestra, with Joe Williams)
  • 13.Boot 'Em Up (Red Saunders and His Orchestra)
  • 14.Hambone (Red Saunders and His Orchestra, with Dolores Hawkins and The Hambone Kids)
  • 15.Voodoo Blues (Red Saunders and His Orchestra with Joe Williams)
  • 16.Rebecca (Jo Jo Adams)
  • 17.It's Raining Again (Joe Williams with the Red Saunders Band)
  • 18.Summertime (Red Saunders and His Orchestra)
  • 19.Alley "B" On 5th Ave. (Paul Bascomb and His Orchestra)
  • 20.Chicago USA (Nu Sounds)
  • 21.Daddy's Gonna Tell You No Lie (The Cosmic Rays with Sun Ra and Arkestra)
  • 22.Dreaming (The Cosmic Rays with Sun Ra and Arkestra)
  • 23.Spaceship Lullaby (Nu Sounds)
  • 24.Last Call For Love (Billie Hawkins with Sun Ra and His Orchestra)
  • 25.Muck Muck (Yochanan The Space Age Vocalist)
  • 26.Medicine For A Nightmare (Le Sun-Ra and His Arkistra)
  • 27.Adventur In Space (Sun Ra and His Astro Infinity Arkestra)
  • 28.New Horizons (Sun Ra and His Myth Science Arkestra)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.A Call for All Demons (Le Sun-Ra and His Arkistra)
  • 2.Future (Sun Ra and His Arkestra)
  • 3.Planet Earth (Sun Ra and His Solar Arkestra)
  • 4.Overtones Of China (Sun Ra and His Solar Arkestra)
  • 5.India (Sun Ra and The Arkestra)
  • 6.Eve (Sun Ra and His Solar Arkestra)
  • 7.Kingdom Of Not (Sun Ra and The Arkestra)
  • 8.El Is A Sound Of Joy (Sun Ra and The Arkestra)
  • 9.El Viktor (Sun Ra and His Solar Arkestra)
  • 10.Sunology (Sun Ra and The Arkestra)
  • 11.Springtime In Chicago (Le Sun Ra and His Arkistra)
  • 12.Brainville (Sun Ra and His Arkestra)
  • 13.Street Named Hell (Sun Ra and His Arkestra)
  • 14.Portrait Of The Living Sky (Sun Ra and The Arkestra)
  • 15.Ankh (Sun Ra and His Solar Arkestra)
  • 16.Sun Song (Sun Ra and His Arkestra)
  • 17.Advice To Medics (Sun Ra and The Arkestra)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Great Balls Of Fire (Le Sun Ra and His Arkistra)
  • 2.Enlightenment (Le Sun Ra and His Arkistra)
  • 3.Velvet (Le Sun Ra and His Arkistra)
  • 4.Hours After (Le Sun Ra and His Arkistra)
  • 5.Blues At Midnight (Le Sun Ra and His Arkistra)
  • 6.Ancient Aiethopia (Le Sun Ra and His Arkistra)
  • 7.Space Loneliness (Sun Ra and His Arkestra)
  • 8.Teenager's Letter Of Promises (Juanita Rogers and Lynn Hollings with Mr V's Five Joys)
  • 9.Big City Blues (Sun Ra and His Myth Science Arkestra)
  • 10.Bassism (Sun Ra and His Arkestra)
  • 11.Where Is Tomorrow (Sun Ra and His Arkestra)
  • 12.New Day (Sun Ra and His Arkestra)
  • 13.Tapestry From An Asteroid (Sun Ra and His Arkestra)
  • 14.The Beginning (Sun Ra and His Arkestra)
  • 15.Message To Earthman (Yochanan)

Product Description:

EU-only three CD set from the eccentric musician. This three disc set compiles an often startling array of seminal recordings from Sun Ra's pre-Arkestra musical apprenticeship and feet finding, working with R&B names of the day, some known but several obscure, even devotees may not have previously known about. Compiled and annotated by music journalist and long-term Sun Ra fan Kris Needs. With illustrated booklet, unraveling and chronicling this most mysterious but pivotal period in Ra's career.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Sun Ra

Product Info

  • UPC: 5055311001548
  • Shipping Weight: 0.35/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)