Girls, Volume 1: Music from the HBO Original Series
by Various Artists

Girls, Volume 1: Music from the HBO Original
20 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $16.88 Limited Time Only
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $2.11 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  3692D
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 8, 2013
  • Label: Fueled By Ramen


  • 1.Dancing On My Own
  • 2.Sight of the Sun
  • 3.Wishes and Stars
  • 4.Girls
  • 5.Overdrawn
  • 6.Everyone's Gonna Get High
  • 7.I Love It - (featuring Charli XCX)
  • 8.Same Mistakes
  • 9.I Don't Love Anyone
  • 10.Montezuma
  • 11.White Nights
  • 12.Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra)
  • 13.Love is Won
  • 14.On Your Way

Product Description:

Girls, Vol. 1: Music from the HBO Original Series gathers musical highlights from the show's first season as well as songs to be featured in its second season. Girls won praise for its unflinching and often hilarious portrayal of four friends testing the waters of post-college life; while most of the soundtrack doesn't have quite this amount of depth, it's still a believable and very listenable backdrop to Hannah and her friends' (mis)adventures. Girls' music is a pretty even mix of hedonism and soul-searching: cheeky tracks like Icona Pop's "I Love It" and the Vaccines' "Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra)" capture living-in-the-moment thrills, while introspective songs such as the Echo-Friendly's "Same Mistakes," Fleet Foxes' "Montezuma," and Belle & Sebastian's "I Don't Love Anyone" (which had seen a few generations of twenty-somethings through their pre-life crises by the time it was included here) reflect the characters' dawning self-awareness. Like the show's characters, sometimes the song choices here tread dangerously close to clich‚, but Robyn's "Dancing on My Own" expresses the push-pull of wanting to be in love while remaining independent that Girls' girls are experiencing, all within the confines of a brilliantly catchy pop song. Several exclusive songs also appear here, such as fun.'s "Sight of the Sun," Grouplove's rousing "Everyone's Gonna Get High," and Santigold's sassy "Girls," adding more dimension to the soundtrack's music. Even if Girls, Vol. 1: Music from the HBO Original Series falls just short of having enough personality to feel like a mixtape or playlist made by Hannah or one of her friends, there are enough quirky choices to prevent it from feeling like too blatant a piece of marketing. ~ Heather Phares

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 20 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 122,991
  • UPC: 075678761881
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)