Morcheeba Big Calm

Big Calm
145 ratings
15 copies available
Price: $13.57
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.41 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  368YG
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 17, 1998
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - 5/98, p.141
8 (out of 10) - "...Always a hippie groove band at heart, Morcheeba have responded impressively to trip-hop's AOR-ization with BIG CALM--possibly the most seamless mix of VH1 pop and DJ culture so far, and a joint that recalls the Mamas & the Papas as much as Portishead..."
Vibe - 4/98, p.142
"...Ross and Paul's moody blend of hip hop and twangy guitar licks, coupled with Skye's sweetly angelic vocals, seep easily into your consciousness..."
NME (Magazine) - 4/11/98, p.39
8 (out of 10) - "...A widescreen collection, it aspires more to inspirational airborne pirouetting of the Beck and Cornershop variety than floating face down in the murky pond of trip-hop....They sound like they like life."


  • 1.The Sea
  • 2.Shoulder Holster
  • 3.Part of the Process
  • 4.Blindfold
  • 5.Let Me See
  • 6.Bullet Proof
  • 7.Over and Over
  • 8.Friction
  • 9.Diggin' a Watery Grave
  • 10.Fear and Love
  • 11.Big Calm
  • 12.Music That We Hear, The (Moog Island) - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Morcheeba: Skye Edwards (vocals); Ross Godfrey (guitar, sitar, pedal & lap steel guitars, clavinet, Hammond B-3 organ, Fender Rhodes piano, Wurlitzer piano, synthesizers, bass, drums); Paul Godfrey (drums, programming, scratches); Pete Norris (keyboard programming, sound effects).
Additional personnel includes: Spikey T (spoken vocals); Pierre Le Rue (fiddle); Jimmy Hastings (flute); Gary Baldwin (Hammond B-3 organ); DJ First Rate, DJ Swamp (scratches); Joe Cooper (percussion, background vocals); Peggi Gayle, Graeme Kyle (background vocals).
Klein String Quartet: S. Bentley-Klein, L. Melhuish (violin); T. Grant (viola); R. Bridgemont (cello).
Includes liner notes by The Gardener.
Personnel: Skye Edwards (vocals); Ross Godfrey (guitar, lap steel guitar, sitar, Fender Rhodes piano, Clavinet, Wurlitzer organ, synthesizer, drums); Peter Oxer, L. Melhuish, C. Hughes, Steve Bentley-Klein, Howard Ball, E.R. Singleton, Ian McLeod, David Emanuel (violin); Pierre Le Rue (fiddle); T. Grant (viola, alto clarinet); S. Wright, Mike Posner (viola); E. Pritchard, Richard Bridgemont (cello); Jimmy Hastings (flute); D. Hake (trumpet); D. Lee (French horn); C. Hetter (trombone); D. Pipkin (keyboards); Paul Godfrey (drums, programming, scratches); M. Carling (drums); Joe Cooper (percussion, background vocals); Peter Norris (programming, turntables); DJ Swamp, DJ First Rate (scratches); Peggi Gayle, T. Rennie, Graeme Kyle (background vocals).
Photographer: Daniel McLewin.
Morcheeba is a band with all its bases covered. Brothers Ross and Paul Godfrey pull in opposite directions, with Ross handling the more organic range of instrumentation, from guitar to Hammond organ, while Paul takes care of programming and turntable work. Add to that formula the self-ordained "Sound Surgeon" Pete Norris and the cool, ethereal voice of singer Skye Edwards, whose quiet self-assurance provides a meeting ground for the eclectic sonic amalgam that is Morcheeba's BIG CALM.
Burbling analog synths and gritty slide guitar dominate on "Part Of The Process," setting the pace for the wild diversity of sounds to follow. Serene keyboards and buzzing drum samples provide the unique backdrop for the timeless melody of "Blindfold." Lush string arrangements and beautiful fingerpicked guitar grace the close harmonies and confessional lyrics of "Over And Over." Powerful string orchestration also lifts the ballad "Fear And Love." "Friction" features a deep reggae groove, a horn section and chatting by Spikey T.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 145 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Morcheeba

Product Info

  • UPC: 643443102025
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)