A$AP Rocky Long.Live.A$AP [Deluxe Edition]

Long.Live.A$AP [Deluxe Edition]
74 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $15.28
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.12 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $2.86 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  368YC
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: January 14, 2013
  • Label: RCA

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.58
3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Like all great sequels, the album ups the ante without losing what made the original compelling."
Entertainment Weekly - p.77
"While Rocky spends ample time laying out his life philosophy on heady, hazy thumpers...his major-label debut proves he's more than a magnetic hedonist."
"[H]e draws from a variety of classic hip-hop regions and eras while still retaining an interest in modern pop trends..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.94
4 stars out of 5 -- "Rocky's rhyme talents are impressively dextrous, flipping between complex cadences and flows with unerring accuracy."


  • 1.Long Live A$AP
  • 2.Goldie
  • 3.PMW (All I Really Need) - (featuring ScHoolboy Q)
  • 4.LVL
  • 5.Hell - (featuring Santigold)
  • 6.Pain - (featuring Overdoz)
  • 7.Fuckin' Problems - (featuring Drake / Noah Shebib/2 Chains / Kendrick Lamar/2 Chainz / Kyauna Clarke)
  • 8.Wild for the Night - (featuring Skrillex)
  • 9.1Train - (featuring Danny Brown / Big K.R.I.T./Action Bronson / Kendrick Lamar / Joey Bada$$/Yelawolf)
  • 10.Fashion Killa
  • 11.Phoenix
  • 12.Suddenly
  • 13.Jodye
  • 14.Ghetto Symphony - (featuring Gunplay / A$AP Ferg)
  • 15.Angels
  • 16.I Come Apart - (featuring Florence Welch)

Product Description:

Recording information: Clockwork Studios, Los Angeles, Van Nuys, CA; Deuce Mobile Studios; Downtown Studios, New York, NY; Fight Klub Studios, New York, NY; Glenwood Place Studios, Burbank, CA; Mondo Studio, Los Angeles, CA; Noble Street Studios, Toronto, Canada; Parkland Playhouse, Parkland, FL; Quad Studios, New York, NY; Studio 16-18; TDE Red Room, Los Angeles, CA; Y.O.L.O. Studios, Los Angeles, CA.
Photographer: Phil Knott.
The notion that hip-hop has, over time, become an old man's game is only partially true. While many veteran MCs remain some of the most prominent figures in rap music, internet trends have quickly devolved much of the spotlight to newer generations. For a considerable stretch of time, New York hip-hop in particular had been devoid of a significant commercial force under the age of 30, so it's no coincidence that a 23-year-old wunderkind from Harlem, New York named after hip-hop deity Rakim would be next up to bat. But while A$AP Rocky insists on pronouncing his allegiance to his hometown roots, his debut album, Live Love A$AP is sonically out of place, recasting the feel of East Coast hip-hop into a quintessential, albeit progressive southern aesthetic with its country funk and cosmic, syrupy backdrops.
The intricate lyrical concepts that evoke intense listening and the undeniable slang definitive of traditional East Coast rap music are noticeably displaced. What's left is A$AP's sedate charisma and mannerisms leaning toward UGK-inspired bravado. The grandiose opening track, "Palace" sets the tone for the rest of the album, as A$AP makes his claim to fame -- "influenced by Houston/hear it in my music" -- over slow handclaps and bone-chilling choral progressions. Thus, disappointment ensues for those expecting to hear a derivative of A$AP's Harlem compatriots the Diplomats et al -- save for the apparent melodic stylings of Max B (even those are more indebted to Bone Thugs-N-Harmony). The elegantly produced tracks are A$AP's playground, as rhymes swiftly roll off his tongue and occasionally switch from a nonchalant delivery to striking double-time. From the the woozy "Keep It G" with its seductive sax riffs, to the twinkling synth-ridden "Pe$o" to the buoyant "Trilla," with its twangy guitar riffs, A$AP maneuvers through these soundscapes with keen agility. For the saints, Live Love A$AP is nothing short of a guilty pleasure; the antithesis of conscious rap. Subject matter boasts the very elements of commercial hip-hop that are often stigmatized -- misogyny, glorified promiscuity among males, and excessive drug use. But for the aesthetically inclined, Live Love A$AP is a marvel of contemporary rap music, despite its abounding moral decay. ~ Andre Barnes

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 74 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for A$AP Rocky

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 124,595
  • UPC: 887654369628
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)