Bing & Rosie: The Crosby-Clooney Radio Sessions (2-CD)

Bing & Rosie: The Crosby-Clooney Radio Sessions
Only 10 copies left
Price: $18.07
List Price: $19.95
You Save: $1.88 (9% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  EDCV
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Ume

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Merry-Go-Run-Around
  • 2.Takes Two To Tango
  • 3.Chicago Style [Version 1]
  • 4.Open Up Your Heart
  • 5.South Rampart Street Parade
  • 6.Something To Remember You By [Version 1]
  • 7.You're Just In Love [Version 1]
  • 8.It's Only A Paper Moon
  • 9.Chicago Style [Version 2]
  • 10.Easter Parade [Version 1]
  • 11.People Will Say We're In Love [Version 1]
  • 12.Only Forever
  • 13.These Foolish Things Remind Me Of You / We Just Couldn't Say Goodbye / You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
  • 14.You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To [Version 2 - Medley Flub Pickup]
  • 15.We Just Couldn't Say Goodbye [Version 2]
  • 16.These Foolish Things Remind Me Of You [Version 2]
  • 17.You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To [Version 3]
  • 18.That's Amore
  • 19.The Little Brown Jug
  • 20.Sweet Genevieve
  • 21.Shine On Harvest Moon [Version 1]
  • 22.Buckle Down Winsocki
  • 23.Indian Summer
  • 24.Something To Remember You By [Version 2]
  • 25.You're Just In Love [Version 2]
  • 26.Easter Parade [Version 2]
  • 27.Man (Uh-Huh) And Woman (Uh-Huh)
  • 28.Lily of Laguna
  • 29.Ford Jingle #1
  • 30.Ford Jingle #2

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Will You Still Be Mine?
  • 2.People Will Say We're In Love [Version 2]
  • 3.We Just Couldn't Say Goodbye [Version 3]
  • 4.I May Be Wrong
  • 5.Would You Like To Take A Walk?
  • 6.They Can't Take That Away From Me
  • 7.You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To [Version 4]
  • 8.Something To Remember You By [Version 3]
  • 9.Let's Call The Whole Thing Off
  • 10.Ain't We Got Fun?
  • 11.Isn't This A Lovely Day?
  • 12.Let's Put Out The Lights And Go To Sleep
  • 13.They Say It's Wonderful
  • 14.Shine On Harvest Moon [Version 2]
  • 15.Let's Take A Walk Around The Block
  • 16.Don't Worry (About Tomorrow)
  • 17.Hey, Look Me Over
  • 18.Anything You Can Do
  • 19.What Takes My Fancy
  • 20.Summertime
  • 21.True Love
  • 22.It's Been A Long Long Time / Life Is Just A Bowl Of Cherries / Gimme A Little Kiss
  • 23.Moon Over Miami / Meet Me Tonight In Dreamland / There's A Long Long Trail
  • 24.Goodnight My Someone
  • 25.September Song / As Time Goes By / Till We Meet Again
  • 26.Any Town Is Paris When You're Young / Paris In The Spring / April In Paris / The Last Time I Saw Paris
  • 27.Singin' In The Rain
  • 28.Bing Crosby-Rosemary Clooney Sing For Eastern Products, Pt. 1
  • 29.You're In Kentucky Sure As You're Born
  • 30.Bing Crosby-Rosemary Clooney Sing For Eastern Products, Pt. 2
  • 31.This Ole House

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Martin McQuade.
Recording information: CBS Studio, Hollywood, CA (01/10/1953); Ford Ord, Monterey, CA (01/10/1953); Palm Springs, CA (01/10/1953); CBS Studio, Hollywood, CA (1952-11-23&1953-01-14&1953-); Ford Ord, Monterey, CA (1952-11-23&1953-01-14&1953-); Palm Springs, CA (1952-11-23&1953-01-14&1953-); CBS Studio, Hollywood, CA (1953-02-??_1953-03-??&1958-); Ford Ord, Monterey, CA (1953-02-??_1953-03-??&1958-); Palm Springs, CA (1953-02-??_1953-03-??&1958-).
Bing Crosby's musical relationship with Rosemary Clooney is well established by their co-starring roles in the film White Christmas; their three duo albums; and their joint concert appearances toward the end of Crosby's life. But one aspect of the partnership has gone undocumented until now, and it may be the most extensive one: their radio work. Crosby, a major star of radio during its heyday in the 1930s and '40s, clung to the medium as it went into commercial decline with the rise of television starting in the '50s. He maintained a weekly network show until 1954 and continued to host radio programs for syndication into the early '60s, prerecording songs and patter for later broadcast. Clooney was not only a frequent guest, but also shared The Crosby-Clooney Show with him in 1960-1961. This double-CD set, assembled under the auspices of Bing Crosby Enterprises and released through Collectors' Choice Music, presents 61 tracks in over two-and-a-half hours, nearly all of them Crosby/Clooney duets. On the first disc, recorded between 1952 and 1958, they are accompanied by Crosby's longtime bandleader John Scott Trotter and his orchestra. On the second disc, keyboardist Buddy Cole leads a quartet to support them. It looks as though producer Robert S. Bader, in analyzing the material, decided he had too much for a single 80-minute CD and, instead of cutting, decided to expand. Particularly on the first disc, this means the tracks are often loosely edited with studio chatter included, and there are sometimes multiple versions of songs. No doubt the Crosby and Clooney fans most likely to buy this album won't mind, but four versions of "You'd Be so Nice to Come Home To" and three of "Something to Remember You By" seem a bit much. The two singers take on everything from each other's hits to standards, then-current songs from Broadway musicals, and novelties, always performing with comfortable chemistry. Bob Hope pops in for a specially written "Open Up Your Heart" that calls to mind the Hope/Crosby "Road" pictures, but otherwise it's the two principals trading off lines and harmonizing. Sometimes the songs were designed as duets, such as Clooney's first hit "You're Just in Love" (two versions) or "Anything You Can Do." Others were not; it would be hard to find another duet arrangement of "Summertime" from Porgy and Bess, for instance. But that matters less than the joy of hearing two such compatible voices singing together at length. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Bing Crosby

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 49,532
  • UPC: 602537254873
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)