Grateful Dead Dick's Picks, Volume 24: Cow Palace Daly City, CA 3/23/74 (Live) (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 3.8
15 ratings
List Price: $39.98
SALE PRICE: $35.98
You Save: $4 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  RLGE 400133

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 2, 2013
  • Label: Real Gone Music

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.U.S. Blues
  • 2.Promised Land
  • 3.Brown-Eyed Woman
  • 4.Black-Throated Wind
  • 5.Scarlet Begonias
  • 6.Beat It On Down the Line
  • 7.Deal
  • 8.Cassidy
  • 9.China Cat Sunflower
  • 10.I Know You Rider
  • 11.Weather Report Suite

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Playing in the Band
  • 2.Uncle John's Band
  • 3.Morning Dew
  • 4.Uncle John's Band
  • 5.Playing in the Band
  • 6.Big River
  • 7.Bertha
  • 8.Wharf Rat
  • 9.Sugar Magnolia

Product Description:

Personnel: Jerry Garcia (vocals, guitar); Phil Lesh (vocals, electric bass); Donna Jean Godchaux, Bob Weir (vocals); Keith Godchaux (piano); Bill Kreutzmann (drums).
Recording information: Cow Palace, Daly City, CA (03/23/1974).
Photographer: Mary Ann Mayer.
Culled from the seemingly bottomless vaults of live Grateful Dead material, Dick's Picks, Vol. 24 finds the band in one of its jammier modes during a 1974 concert in Daly City, California. This era of the Dead is one of their better documented, with the early '70s representing what many consider a creative peak for the group, especially in the live arena. Apart from the usual host of originals and lively covers, they dedicate no less than 40 minutes of their set to playing one of their only occasionally offered "palindromic" medleys, beginning with "Playing in the Band," transitioning into "Uncle John's Band," centering with "Morning Dew," then jamming backwards again into "Uncle John's Band" before ending with four more minutes of "Playing in the Band." ~ Fred Thomas

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.8
Based on 15 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Grateful Dead

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 66,243
  • UPC: 848064001331
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD: