Wendy & Lisa Wendy and Lisa

Wendy and Lisa
Only 9 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.82 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $2.17 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  9W2J
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 2, 2013
  • Label: Cherry Pop


  • 1.Honeymoon Express
  • 2.Sideshow
  • 3.Waterfall
  • 4.Stay
  • 5.White
  • 6.Blues Away
  • 7.Song About
  • 8.Chance To Grow
  • 9.The Life
  • 10.Everything But You
  • 11.Light
  • 12.Honeymoon Express [12" Version]
  • 13.Sideshow [Extended Version]
  • 14.Waterfall '89 [Alice & Sundial Seven]
  • 15.Waterfall [Psychedelic Teepee Twelve]

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Wendy Melvoin (vocals, guitar, organ, bass, drums, percussion, programming); Lisa Coleman (vocals, piano, keyboards, synthesizer, percussion); Tom Scott (soprano saxophone, lyricon); Jonathan (drums, congas, percussion); Carla (drums); Gary Coleman (congas); David (percussion).
Released in late 1987, Wendy and Lisa was the debut by Wendy Melvoin and Lisa Coleman after they left Prince's much loved band, the Revolution. Although Sign o' the Times was justifiably heralded as a masterpiece, Melvoin and Coleman both possessed an energy and prowess that some felt was missing from that effort and those that followed. Luckily, a good part of those charms show up on this album. The deceptively simple "Honeymoon Express" has a propulsive energy mixed with effortless and recondite vocals, especially on the chorus. Given the pair's work with Prince, it's no surprise that the best songs here are conflicted and thought-provoking. Melvoin's off-centered and oddly sensual vocals never fail to impress, as does Coleman's keyboard shading and composing. The insinuating "Everything but You" is one of the more true-to-life and honest love songs you're likely to hear. The best track, "Stay," is suitably dark and oddly reassuring, and made this an instant classic. Everything's not great here. "Chance to Grow" and the instrumental "White" both meander. Produced by Coleman, Melvoin, and Revolution drummer Bobby Z, Wendy and Lisa lasted well beyond its release date and is one fulfilling effort. ~ Jason Elias

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Wendy & Lisa

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929431980
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)