Aretha Franklin Before the Coronation: Her Earliest Recordings 1956-1962 (2-CD)

Before the Coronation: Her Earliest Recordings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  9V3X
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 26, 2013
  • Label: Jasmine Music

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.There Is A Fountain Filled With Blood
  • 2.Precious Lord Pt 1
  • 3.Precious Lord Pt 2
  • 4.You Grow Closer
  • 5.Never Grow Old
  • 6.The Day Is Past and Gone
  • 7.He Will Wash You White As Snow
  • 8.While The Blood Runs Warm
  • 9.Yield Not To Temptation
  • 10.Right Now
  • 11.Today I Sing The Blues
  • 12.Love Is The Only Thing
  • 13.Over The Rainbow
  • 14.(Blue) By Myself
  • 15.Won't Be Long
  • 16.All Night Long
  • 17.It Ain't Necessarily So
  • 18.Sweet Lover
  • 19.Who Needs You?
  • 20.Are You Sure?
  • 21.Maybe I'm A Fool

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I Surrender, Dear
  • 2.Rock-A-Bye Your Baby With A Dixie Melody
  • 3.Operation Heartbreak
  • 4.I Told You So
  • 5.Rough Lover
  • 6.It's So Heartbreakin'
  • 7.You Made Me Love You
  • 8.Just For You
  • 9.Blue Holiday
  • 10.That Lucky Old Sun
  • 11.Ac -Cent -Tchu-Ate The Positive
  • 12.Exactly Like You
  • 13.Nobody Like You
  • 14.Don't Cry, Baby
  • 15.Try A Little Tenderness
  • 16.I Apologise
  • 17.Without The One You Love
  • 18.Look For The Silver Lining
  • 19.I'm Sitting On Top Of The World
  • 20.Just For A Thrill
  • 21.God Bless The Child
  • 22.I'm Wandering
  • 23.How Deep Is The Ocean
  • 24.I Don't Know You Anymore
  • 25.Lover Come Back To Me
  • 26.Trouble In Mind

Product Description:

EU-only two CD set. Aretha Franklin is one of the giants of Soul and American Pop music: her success was so great she eventually went on to be named, "Lady Soul". On this magnificent set, we look at her early pre-Atlantic recordings. For the first time ever, her 1956 debut Gospel album is compiled alongside her first three R&B/Pop albums. Just one listen to the material on offer here and it is clear that she was well on her way to being the R&B star that we know her as today. Initial hits such as: "Today I Sing the Blues", "Operation Heartbreak" and her version of "Rock-A-Bye Your Baby with a Dixie Melody" are proof if proof be needed. This is the only collection of Aretha's early material that anyone would need. So here it is; we present to you the Queen in waiting or how we have dubbed her for these recordings, "The Princess of Soul" - Still waiting for her coronation. Jasmine.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Aretha Franklin

Product Info

  • UPC: 604988026122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Extended Holiday Hours: Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)