Detroit Gold: '70s Soul Grooves from the Motor City
by Various Artists

Detroit Gold: '70s Soul Grooves from the Motor
Price: $10.79
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  FDDH
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 19, 2013
  • Label: Harmless


  • 1.Something New About You - Silent Majority
  • 2.Let's Change The Subject - Satisfaction Unlimited
  • 3.Trapped In A Love - The Barrino Brothers
  • 4.The Truth Will Come Out - Honey Cone
  • 5.I'm In Love Darling - General Johnson
  • 6.90 Day Freeze - 100 Proof (Aged In Soul)
  • 7.I Shall Not Be Moved - The Barrino Brothers
  • 8.Only Time Will Tell - General Johnson
  • 9.Happy Heart - Freda Payne
  • 10.Nothing Sweeter Than Love - 100 Proof (Aged In Soul)
  • 11.Tighten Him Up - Eloise Laws
  • 12.Let Me Down Easy - Chairmen of The Board
  • 13.Two Can Be As Lonely As One - Danny Woods
  • 14.A Woman's Prayer - Honey Cone
  • 15.The Day I Found Myself - Honey Cone
  • 16.Two Wrongs Don't Make A Right - Freda Payne
  • 17.Bright City Lights - Satisfaction Unlimited
  • 18.Everything Good Is Bad - 100 Proof (Aged In Soul)
  • 19.Deeper and Deeper - Freda Payne
  • 20.You've Made Me So Very Happy - Honey Cone
  • 21.Just As Long - The 8TH Day
  • 22.Ain't It Good Feeling Good - Eloise Laws
  • 23.We've Gotta Find A Way Back To Love - Freda Payne

Product Description:

Invictus was the successor to Holland-Dozier-Holland's Hot Wax label and was active from the tail-end of the '60s until it fizzled out in 1977. Here, Harmless' Backbeats subsidiary shines a light on the deeper crannies of the label's discography, and it also makes a diversion with the selection of Eloise Laws' "Tighten Him Up," an H-D-H job released in 1972 on Invictus sub-label Music Merchant. In a sense, the compilation is more like Detroit bronze; most of the label's well-known songs, such as the Glass House's "Crumbs Off the Table" and Freda Payne's "Band of Gold," are not included. Payne's Top Ten R&B single "Deeper & Deeper" does make an appearance, but otherwise, this is geared more toward listeners who already own the known and are looking to get a little more in-depth. Parliament released a handful of 45s on the label but they aren't represented -- possibly a rights/licensing issue. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 5014797139879
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)