Low I Could Live in Hope

I Could Live in Hope
12 ratings
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  3578Q
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 17, 2012
  • Label: Plain

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 9/94, p.102
4 Stars - Excellent - "...Not since Galaxie 500's 'On Fire' have rippling guitars and hammock swinging dynamics seemed so beatific, this beautiful and not at any time depressing..."
Option - 8/94, p.110
"...Slow. Music. Like the Cowboy Junkies. On Quaaludes. And underwater..."
NME (Magazine) - 9/3/94, p.52
7 - Very Good - "...Low seduce an audience with subtle intensities of understatement, and the brooding power of restraint..."


  • 1.Words
  • 2.Fear
  • 3.Cut
  • 4.Slide
  • 5.Lazy
  • 6.Lullaby
  • 7.Sea
  • 8.Down
  • 9.Drag
  • 10.Rope
  • 11.Sunshine
  • 12.Lullaby [Demo]
  • 13.Cut [Demo]
  • 14.Heartbeat
  • 15.Peanut Butter Toast and American Bandstand

Product Description:

Low: Alan Sparhawk (vocals, guitar); Mimi (vocals, percussion); John (bass).
Personnel: Mimi (vocals, percussion).
Liner Note Author: Alan Sparhawk.
Low's records are frequently compared to the imagined bleakness and bitter cold of their hometown of Duluth, Minnesota. Adding fuel to that fire, their lyrics are often about tiredness and resignation--I COULD live in hope, but… In spite of this, their debut album I COULD LIVE IN HOPE is actually very warm and enveloping, luring the listener slowly and surely into a place where profound resignation seems perfectly euphoric.
The songs "Words" and "Lazy," with their male/female harmonies, vaguely country-like riffs, and warm, shimmering guitars, sound a little like Slowdive. Mimi Parker's solo vocal turn--eerily tripled-tracked at times--on "Lullaby" peters out after a couple of minutes while the sparse music continues on for another seven minutes, slowly--ever so slowly--increasing in intensity and volume. Alan Sparhawk's vocals on "Rope"--the lyrics of which, in their entirety, are "You're gonna need more/Don't ask me to kick any chairs out from under you"--are effectively drawn over a swirling eddy of reverb. Somewhat perversely, the album ends with a version of "Sunshine"-the classic whose refrain is "You are my sunshine, my only sunshine." This is a classic work of no-frills shoegazing glory.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Low

Product Info

  • UPC: 646315517521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)