Janis Siegel A Thousand Beautiful Things

A Thousand Beautiful Things
2 ratings
13 copies available
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $13 (68% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  TLR 83630
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Telarc

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - p.101
"Luxuriating in a scintillating Latin groove, the seasoned Manhattan Transferee puts her singularly intelligent stamp on well-chosen selections..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Hidden Place
  • Buy for $0.992.The Suitcase Song
  • Buy for $0.993.I Can't Help It
  • Buy for $0.994.Caramel
  • Buy for $0.995.A Thousand Beautiful Things
  • Buy for $0.996.Wish, A (Valentine)
  • Buy for $0.997.Love
  • Buy for $0.998.Make It Better
  • Buy for $0.999....Till Then
  • Buy for $0.9910.Sweet Is the Air
  • Buy for $0.9911.Reflecting Light
  • Buy for $0.9912.Did You See the Moon Tonight?

Product Description:

Personnel: Janis Siegel (vocals, background vocals); Janis Siegel; Edmar Casta¤eda (harp); John Ben¡tez (acoustic bass, bass guitar, 6-string bass, background vocals); Brian Lynch (trumpet, flugelhorn); Edsel Gomez (piano, background vocals); Luisito Quintero (drums, percussion, background vocals); Steve Hass (drums, background vocals); Marlon Saunders (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Fran Cathcart.
Recording information: Eastside Sound, New York, NY (06/13/2005-06/16/2005).
Photographer: Luciana Pampalone.
Arranger: Edsel Gomez.
The ninth solo album by Janis Siegel -- an accomplished leader who is nevertheless most famous for her membership in the vocal jazz quartet Manhattan Transfer -- is something that you almost certainly never saw coming: a collection of modern pop songs arranged in an assortment of Latin styles. Gimmicky? Willfully bizarre? Amazingly enough, it's neither. Siegel's strong, supple voice and her consummate taste allow her to bring something new and often subtly complex to every song, without indulging in unnecessary weirdness. Granted, her gifts aren't always sufficient to redeem mediocre material: Bj”rk's "Hidden Place" gives her very little melodic substance to work with, and it makes for an unpromising opening track. But her take on Nellie McKay's "The Suitcase Song" is much more exciting, and the multi-layered Cuban percussion on "I Can't Help It" is brilliant. Even better is the Colombian harp solo on her rendition of Suzanne Vega's "Caramel," and the multi-tracked background vocals on her arrangement of Paul Simon's "Love" are breathtaking. There are many more such moments on this exceptionally fine album. Strongly recommended to jazz and pop fans alike. ~ Rick Anderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Janis Siegel

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 46,226
  • UPC: 089408363023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)