Mogwai Special Moves / Burning (Live) (CD + DVD)

Special Moves / Burning (Live) (CD + DVD)
4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $20.68
SUPER SAVINGS: $18.36 Limited Time Only
List Price: $22.98
You Save: $4.62 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  KVGA
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 24, 2010
  • Label: Mogi Ltd.

Entertainment Reviews:

"SPECIAL MOVES is part victory lap and part trip down memory lane....Few bands know how to use a dramatic pause quite the same way Mogwai does..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.98
4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] reminder of the band's breathtaking live abilities....A fittingly monolithic monument to their work to date."
Paste (magazine) - "They highlight Mogwai's biggest stylistic trademarks...the ambient drone and the electric guitar crashes that break its spell, and the waves of sound that evolve from carefully crafted crescendos."
Pitchfork (Website) - "What's especially impressive about SPECIAL MOVES is how Mogwai deploy their few vocal tracks to alternately heighten and diffuse tension."
Uncut (magazine) - p.99
3 stars out of 5 -- "These days, their perseverance with effects-driven instrumental rock, and grainy, found photo aesthetic seems quite prescient..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I'm Jim Morrison, I'm Dead
  • 2.Friend of the Night
  • 3.Hunted By a Freak
  • 4.Mogwai Fear Satan
  • 5.Cody
  • 6.You Don't Know Jesus
  • 7.I Know You Are But What Am I?
  • 8.I Love You, I'm Going To Blow Up Your School
  • 9.2 Rights Make 1 Wrong
  • 10.Like Herod
  • 11.Glasgow Megasnake

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Precipice
  • 2.I'm Jim Morrison, I'm Dead
  • 3.Hunted By a Freak
  • 4.Like Herod
  • 5.New Paths To Helicon Part 1
  • 6.Mogwai Fear Satan
  • 7.Scotland's Shame
  • 8.Batcat

Product Description:

Audio Mixer: John Cummings.
Recording information: Music Hall Of Williamsburg, Brooklyn, NY (04/27/2009-04/29/2009).
For a band whose epic compositions and dramatic dynamics play so well in concert, it's somewhat surprising that Mogwai didn't release an official live album until 2010's Special Moves. For fans who have seen the band live and novices alike, the set was worth the wait. Recorded at one of the band's 2009 Brooklyn shows, Special Moves is beautifully mixed, balancing all of their onstage elements carefully while capturing the sheer power of their concerts; there's also just enough audience noise to remind listeners that they're playing in front of a devoted crowd. This sense of balance extends to the rest of the album, from its even-handed mix of songs from each of Mogwai's albums, to its equal measure of introspective and bombastic moments. True to the band, Special Moves' setlist is somewhat willful; it's not just a playlist of Mogwai's best-known songs. Happy Songs for Happy People's "Hunted by a Freak" is as close as the band gets to playing a hit single, a relatively concise moment in a generous set dominated by expansive performances. The two biggest showpieces come from the band's first proper album Young Team: "Fear Satan," which the band plays after they've warmed up a bit, goes from pin-drop silence to massive walls of guitar over the course of 12 minutes, and "Like Herod," a dark, angular, 11-minute workout that, in retrospect, shows that Mogwai have been big metal fans throughout their existence. Meanwhile, Mr. Beast's "Friend of the Night" and Rock Action's "2 Rights Make 1 Wrong" demonstrate how the band's gentler moments blossom in a live setting. The show ends with the literal bang of "Glasgow Megasnake," a three-minute reminder that Mogwai excels at short and long-form rocking. While nothing can capture the true feeling of being flattened by one of Mogwai's shows except attending one, Special Moves is still a great live document. Coupled with Vincent Moon's moody black-and-white concert film Burning (which is worth the price of admission for "Batcat" alone), it's the complete Mogwai concert experience. ~ Heather Phares

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Mogwai

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 131,995
  • UPC: 634457532625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.12/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)