Dave Brubeck Brubeck: To Hope! A Celebration (Live)

Brubeck: To Hope! A Celebration (Live)
6 ratings
Only 6 copies left
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  K5F6
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Telarc


  • Buy for $0.991.Processional
  • Buy for $0.992.Lord, Have Mercy (Kyrie)
  • Buy for $0.993.Desert And The Parched Land, The (Isaiah 35:1-4)
  • Buy for $0.994.Peace Of Jerusalem, The (Responsorial, Based On Psalm 131)
  • Buy for $0.995.Alleluia
  • Buy for $0.996.Father, All Powerful (Preface)
  • Buy for $0.997.Holy, Holy, Holy
  • Buy for $0.998.While He Was At Supper (Institution-Narrative)
  • Buy for $0.999.When We Eat This Bread (Memorial Acclamation)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Through Him, With Him (Doxology)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Great Amen
  • Buy for $0.9912.Our Father
  • Buy for $0.9913.Lamb Of God
  • Buy for $0.9914.All My Hope
  • Buy for $0.9915.Gloria

Product Description:

Quartet/Cathedral Choral Society Chorus & Orchestra.
The Dave Brubeck Quartet: Dave Brubeck (piano); Bobby Militello (saxophone); Jack Six (bass); Randy Jones (drums).
Recorded live at the Washington National Cathedral, Washington, D.C. on June 12, 1995. Includes liner notes by Richard S. Ginell and Dave Brubeck.
Personnel: Dave Brubeck (piano); Aisha Lindsey, Elisabeth Williams , Cynthia Young, Suzanne Abu-Sharr, Pat Philips (soprano); Walter D. Bailey, Alfred Chiplin, Will Stewart, Dave Costanza, Mark Bleeke, Kingface, James Clay , Larry Hamilton, Bill Fox (tenor); Kevin Deas (baritone, bass voice); Michael Muller, Peter H. Larsen, David Katz, Matt Benko, Andrew Thompson , Billy Hartung, Mark E. Alberta, Norman Bradford, Chris Corr, Richard Calhoun (bass voice); Paula Akbar, Jacqueline Perry, William Steck , Desimont Alston, Jacqueline Anderson (violin); Ann Steck (viola); James Lee, Rachael Young (cello); Bobby Militello (saxophone); Milt Stevens (trombone); J. Reilly Lewis (celesta); Rodney Richards, Randy Jones (drums); Fred Begun (timpani); Charles Wilkinson (percussion).
Liner Note Authors: Dave Brubeck; Richard S. Ginell.
Recording information: Washington National Cathedral, Washington D.C (06/12/1995).
Director: J. Reilly Lewis.
Photographers: Kenny Cobb; Steven Gottlieb.
Only a fraction of the sacred music written by Dave Brubeck has been recorded for commercial release; this commissioned piece marks the first time that one of his religious works has been recorded in its entirety in concert. With longtime manager Russell Gloyd conducting the Cathedral Choral Society Chorus & Orchestra and his regular quartet, Brubeck performed his Roman Catholic Mass in the Washington National Cathedral to a packed sanctuary. This stunning work incorporates jazz interludes into the hypnotic responsorial "The Peace of Jerusalem" and "Alleluia," a particularly challenging section for the choir. The vocal soloists are impressive; tenor Mark Bleeke's feature, "While He Was at Supper," is especially moving. The overall effect of this beautiful work is absolutely stunning. It resists being labeled in any one category; it is simply great music. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Dave Brubeck

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 111,512
  • UPC: 089408043024
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)