Freda Payne Supernatural High

Supernatural High
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  36297
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 5, 2013
  • Label: Soulmusic


  • 1.Happy Days Are Here Again / Happy Music (Dance the Night Away)
  • 2.Pullin' Back
  • 3.Tell Me Please
  • 4.Just the Thought of You and Me Together (Supernatural High)
  • 5.Livin' for the Beat
  • 6.Falling in Love
  • 7.I'll Do Anything for You
  • 8.Storybook Romance
  • 9.Happy Days Are Here Again / Happy Music (Dance the Night Away) [US Capitol Single Edit]

Product Description:

Personnel: John Rowin, Louis Russell (guitar); Fred Jackson (alto saxophone); Ernest Straughter, Michael Stanton, Skip Scarborough (keyboards); Nate Neblett (drums); Munyungo Jackson (percussion); Luther Waters, Dianne Wright, Michael Wright, Scherrie Payne (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Kevin Goins.
Recording information: Capitol Recording Studio.
Photographer: Charles Bush.
Skip Scarborough (Earth, Wind & Fire, Con Funk Shun, Patti Labelle) produced this pleasant collection of disco songs (many of which were club hits), ballads, and mid-tempo tracks from singer Freda Payne. There's a rousing melody that makes good use of the standard "Happy Days Are Here Again." Other highlights are the stimulating "Pullin' Back," the playful "Tell Me Please," a chugging clavinet-filled "Livin' for the Beat" (co-written by her then-husband Gregory Abbott), the soft "Just the Thought of You" (co-written by Thom Bell), and the jazzy string/sax-woven slow jam "Falling in Love," co-written by Deniece Williams. Payne's sister Scherrie Payne wrote the dynamic "Storybook Romance" and later redid it as half of Scherrie & Susaye on the 1979 Motown LP Partners. ~ Ed Hogan

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Freda Payne

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929078437
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)