Johnny Dyani Quartet Song For Biko

Song For Biko
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $17.43 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2.55 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  X5QK
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 29, 1994
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Steeplechase


  • $1.29 on iTunes1.Wish You Sunshine
  • $1.29 on iTunes2.Song for Biko
  • 3.Confession of Moods
  • 4.Jo'burg - New York
  • 5.Lonely Flower in the Village: Flower of Peace / Duncan Village - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Personnel: Johnny Dyani (bass); Dudu Pukwana (alto saxophone); Don Cherry (cornet); Makaya Ntshoko (drums).
Personnel: Dudu Pukwana (alto saxophone); Don Cherry , Don Cherry & Ed Blackwell (cornet); Makaya Ntshoko (drums).
Liner Note Author: Chris Sheridan.
Recording information: 07/18/1978.
Photographer: Nils Winther.
Bassist Johnny Dyani had a large tone and a relaxed yet authoritative style. On this classic SteepleChase release he teams up with two other South African expatriates (altoist Dudu Pukwana and drummer Makay Ntshoko) plus cornetist Don Cherry for music that is haunting, emotional, somewhat adventurous, yet also melodic. While "Song for Biko" is the most memorable piece, all five of Dyani's originals (including the 16-and-a-half-minute "Jo'burg-New York") are special. The music combines together Dyani's South African folk heritage with Ornette Coleman's free bop and elements of avant-garde jazz. Highly recommended. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Dyani Quartet

Product Info

  • UPC: 716043110926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)