Syd Barrett Opel

12 copies available
Price: $10.76
List Price: $11.96
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  Q4GR
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 5, 2013
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Parlophone (Wea)


  • 1.Opel
  • 2.Clowns and Jugglers
  • 3.Rats
  • 4.Golden Hair
  • 5.Dolly Rocker
  • 6.Word Song
  • 7.Wined and Dined
  • 8.Swan Lee (Silas Lang)
  • 9.Birdie Hop
  • 10.Let's Split
  • 11.Lanky (Part One)
  • 12.Wouldn't You Miss Me (Dark Globe)
  • 13.Mily Way
  • 14.Golden Hair
  • 15.Gigolo Aunt [Take 9]
  • 16.It is Obvious [Take 3]
  • 17.It is Obvious [Take 5]
  • 18.Clowns and Jugglers [Take 1]
  • 19.Late Night [Take 2]
  • 20.Effervescing Elephant [Take 2]

Product Description:

OPEL contains outtakes and previously-unreleased material from the sessions for the LPs THE MADCAP LAUGHS and BARRETT.
Personnel includes: Syd Barrett (vocals, guitar); Mike Ratledge (organ), Hugh Hopper (bass); Robert Wyatt (drums).
Producers: David Gilmor, Roger Waters, Peter Jenner, Malcolm Jones.
Recorded at Abbey Road Studios, London, England between 1968 and 1970. Includes liner notes by Brian Hogg.
Recording information: Abbey Road Studios, London.
Syd Barrett is primarily known amongst fans less as a musician and more of a doomed poet along the lines of Skip Spence or Brian Wilson--someone who talked the talk AND walked the walk. Unfortunately, what's usually lost amid the drug-casualty hoopla is exactly how talented the man was as a singer/songwriter. OPEL is a collection of alternate and rare material that Syd recorded without help from the other members of Pink Floyd (though band members did contribute to his other two official releases). Robert Wyatt and most of Soft Machine back Syd on some of OPEL's tracks, and while this lineup might lack the sympathetic touch of the Gilmour-directed material, OPEL is nonetheless a gem. Of particular interest are the spacier versions of "Octopus" (Here titled (Clowns and Jugglers") and "Wouldn't You Miss Me" (dubbed "Dark Globe" on this collection). A must for Barrett fans and the curious alike.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Syd Barrett

Product Info

  • UPC: 5099991755629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)