Syd Barrett The Madcap Laughs

The Madcap Laughs
Price: $20.69
List Price: $22.99
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  Q4GK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 5, 2013
  • Originally Released: 1970
  • Label: Parlophone (Wea)

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 5/97, p.134
"...THE MADCAP LAUGHS remains a breath of fresh air--basic and quite beautifully bonkers."


  • 1.Terrapin
  • 2.No Good Trying
  • 3.Love You
  • 4.No Man's Land
  • 5.Dark Globe
  • 6.Here I Go
  • 7.Octopus
  • 8.Golden Hair
  • 9.Long Gone
  • 10.She Took a Long Cool Look
  • 11.Feel
  • 12.If It's In You
  • 13.Late Night
  • 14.Octopus [Take 1 & 2]
  • 15.No Good Trying [Take 5]
  • 16.Love You [Take 1]
  • 17.Love You [Take 3]
  • 18.She Took a Long Cool Look [Take 4]
  • 19.Golden Hair [Take 5]

Product Description:

Recording information: Abbey Road Studios, London.
When Syd Barrett departed Pink Floyd for a solo career after (minimally) contributing to A SAUCER FULL OF SECRETS in 1969, expectations naturally ran high. Aside from being Floyd's primary songwriter, singer, and guitarist, Barrett had already developed the reputation for being a twisted child prodigy. Taking a turn away from Floyd's complex layered psychedelia, Barrett's solo debut, MADCAP LAUGHS, revealed the singer/songwriter to be a somewhat gentle, reflective poet. Although MADCAP is not as lyrically obscure as most of Barrett's work with Floyd, the album nonetheless proves that Barrett could mutate a simple love song ("Love You," "She Took a Long Cold Look") past the realm of the expected into something chilling.
The plaintive voice-cracking wail of "Won't you miss me / won't you miss me at all?" in "Dark Globe" could just as easily have been directed at a departing lover or the fanbase that Syd was separating himself from at the time through chemical abuse and reclusive behavior. The most compelling song lyrics on MADCAP, however, were not even written by Barrett, but by fellow spiritual expatriate James Joyce. The unlikely collaboration "Golden Hair" is among the most haunting songs ever committed to vinyl. MADCAP is a rich distillation of the triumph of creativity over self-destruction.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Syd Barrett

Product Info

  • UPC: 603497912230
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)