Johnny "Hammond" Smith Opus de Funk

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
1 rating
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $12 (63% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  PRS 24291
Amazon sells this CD for $12.58, buying at saves you 45%

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Label: Prestige


  • 1.Sticks And Stones
  • 2.Because You Left Me
  • 3.Ribs An' Chips
  • 4.Cry Me A River
  • 5.Que Pasa?
  • 6.Invitation
  • 7.Spring Is Here
  • 8.Stimulation
  • 9.Opus De Funk
  • 10.Almost Like Being In Love
  • 11.Autumn Leaves
  • 12.Sad Eyes
  • 13.Gone With The Wind
  • 14.If Someone Had Told Me
  • 15.Shirley's Theme

Product Description:

Personnel: Johnny "Hammond" Smith (organ); Johnny "Hammond" Smith; Wendell Marshall (double bass); Eddie McFadden (guitar); Freddie McCoy (vibraphone); Leo Stevens (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Kirk Felton.
Liner Note Authors: Robert Levin; Joe Goldberg.
Recording information: New Jersey (02/14/1961-05/12/1961); Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (02/14/1961-05/12/1961).
While organist Johnny "Hammond" Smith never attained the status of Jimmy Smith, he nonetheless fronted first-rate bands and accumulated a fine discography. Recorded in 1961, Opus de Funk brings together two Smith albums in one package, Stimulation and Opus de Funk. Since the same band -- vibraphonist Freddie McCoy, guitarist Eddie McFadden, bassist Wendell Marshall, and drummer Leo Stevens -- played on both sets, and since both albums aren't very long by contemporary standards, the pair fit snuggly on the same CD. The really unusual element here is the presence of McCoy, because one doesn't usually associate vibes with jazz organ combos. The vibes work, however, and give the resonance of Smith's organ a lighter counterpoint that brightens up the overall sound. The band delivers fine versions of familiar pieces -- "Cry Me a River," "Autumn Leaves," and "Gone With the Wind" -- alongside newer pieces like "Ribs an' Chips" and "Que Pasa?" With a couple of exceptions, this snappy unit likes to keep things tight, and seldom extends a piece for over five minutes. The one big exception is Smith's "Ribs an' Chips," a breezy eight-minute bit of blues with fine solos by McFadden and McCoy. Opus de Funk is a welcome reissue and will be greeted warmly by jazz organ fans. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford Jr.
Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Johnny "Hammond" Smith

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 20,923
  • UPC: 025218529129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Jazz Instrument: Soul Jazz Music Categories:

Top ranking titles in the Jazz genre: