Johnny "Hammond" Smith Legends of Acid Jazz, Volume 2

Legends of Acid Jazz, Volume 2
2 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  356RE
on most orders of $35+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Prestige


  • Buy for $1.291.Theme From N.Y.P.D.
  • Buy for $1.292.Dirty Apple
  • Buy for $1.293.Days of Wine and Roses
  • Buy for $1.294.Ode to Billie Joe
  • Buy for $1.295.You'll Never Walk Alone
  • Buy for $1.296.Alfie
  • Buy for $1.297.Tara's Theme (My Own True Love)
  • Buy for $1.298.Here Comes That Rainy Day
  • Buy for $1.299.I Got a Woman
  • Buy for $1.2910.Dirty Grape
  • 11.Animal Farm
  • Buy for $1.2912.Black Strap Molasses
  • Buy for $1.2913.She's Gone Again
  • Buy for $1.2914.Hi Heel Sneakers
  • Buy for $1.2915.To Sir With Love
  • Buy for $1.2916.Love Is a Hurtin' Thing
  • Buy for $1.2917.Please Send Me Someone to Love

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Johnny "Hammond" Smith (organ); Houston Person, Earl Edwards (tenor saxophone).
This is part of Prestige's Legends Of Acid Jazz series.
Personnel: Johnny "Hammond" Smith (organ); Wally Richardson (guitar); Houston Person, Earl Edwards (tenor saxophone); John Harris (drums); Richard Landrum (congas).
Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
Liner Note Authors: Chris Peters; Ralph Berton.
Recording information: Englewood Cliffs, NJ (09/27/1967-01/31/1968).
Prestige's second volume of Johnny "Hammond" Smith's recordings in their Legends of Acid Jazz series contains two full original albums: 1967's Soul Flowers and its 1968 follow-up, Dirty Grape. Both sessions were recorded within four months of each other with the same sextet, featuring guitarist Wally Richardson, tenor saxophonists Houston Person and Earl Edwards, bassist Jimmy Lewis, drummer John Harris, and Richard Landrum on conga. On both records, he basically tackles modern pop -- songs that were hits on the pop and R&B charts and songs from movies and TV. This could have been predictable, lightly swinging jazz-pop, like so many soul-jazz records of its ilk in the late '60s, but what makes both sessions so enjoyable is that the band is lively, gritty, and clearly having fun with this material. Of the two, Soul Flowers is a little more satisfying, but both are highly enjoyable and they make for a great two-fer -- one that's the equal of Smith's first edition of Legends of Acid Jazz. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Johnny "Hammond" Smith

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218523523
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm