Incognito Positivity

28 ratings
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  DQSK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Step Into My Life
  • Buy for $0.992.Still A Friend Of Mine
  • Buy for $0.993.Smiling Faces
  • Buy for $0.994.Where Do We Go From Here
  • Buy for $0.995.Positivity
  • Buy for $0.996.Inversions
  • Buy for $0.997.Givin' It Up
  • Buy for $0.998.Talkin' Loud
  • Buy for $1.299.Deep Waters
  • Buy for $0.9910.Do Right
  • Buy for $0.9911.Pieces Of A Dream
  • Buy for $0.9912.Thinking 'Bout Tomorrow
  • Buy for $0.9913.Keep The Fires Burning

Product Description:

Incognito: Maysa Leak, Mark Anthoni (vocals); J.P. "Bluey" Maunick (various instruments, guitar); Patrick Clahar (soprano & tenor saxophones); Kevin Robinson (trumpet, flugelhorn); Fayyaz Virji (trombone); Graham Harvey (keyboards, vocoder, bass synthesizer); Peter Hinds (keyboards); Randy Hope Taylor (bass); Richard Bailey (drums); Thomas Dyani (percussion); Sarah Brown (background vocals).
Additional personnel: Bud Beadle (baritone saxophone, flute); Richard Bull (keyboards, programming, guitar); Max Beesley (keyboards); Paul "Tubbs" Williams (bass); Ray Hayden (drums, programming, background vocals); Tyrrell (programming).
Engineers include: Simon Cotsworth, Ray Hayden, Richard Bull.
Recorded at Parkgate, Swanyard, Metropolis, The Hit Factory, Opaz and Bump City Studios.
Personnel: Jean-Paul "Bluey" Maunick (vocals, guitar, keyboards, vocoder, drum programming, percussion programming); Mark Anthoni, Maysa (vocals, background vocals); Richard Bull (guitar, keyboards, bass programming, drum programming, percussion programming); Bud Beadle (flute, baritone saxophone); Patrick Clahar (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Kevin Robinson (trumpet, flugelhorn); Fayyaz Virji (trombone); Graham Harvey (keyboards, synthesizer, vocoder); Peter Hinds, Maxton G. Beesley, Jr. (keyboards); Richard Bailey (drums); Thomas Dyani (percussion); Ray Hayden (bass programming, drum programming, percussion programming, background vocals); Sarah Brown (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Ray Hayden; Jean-Paul "Bluey" Maunick; Richard Bull; Ron Aslan; Simon Cotsworth.
Recording information: Bump City Studios; HIt Factory; Metropolis; Opaz; Park Gate Studio; Swanyard.
Photographer: Richard Croft .
Unknown Contributor Roles: Graham Harvey; Ray Hayden; Jean-Paul "Bluey" Maunick; Richard Bull.
Since the glory days of Earth, Wind & Fire, many groups have tried to extend upon Maurice White's classic synthesis of ethnic rhythms, salsa, soul, jazz and funk. Now, along comes Incognito, with their own suave brand of contemporary jazz/R&B. Rising from the ashes of the early 1980s British funk-jazz scene (which produced chart-toppers such as Level 42, Shakatak and Sade), Incognito is a hard grooving 12-piece ensemble featuring soaring horns, a dynamic vocal trio and a pulsing rhythm section. Taking off on the success of their two previous Verve/Forecast releases (INSIDE LIFE and TRIBES, VIBES AND SCRIBES), Incognito really gelled as a live band during their triumphant 1992 American tour, when their opening act often upstaged headliners Lee Ritenour and The Yellowjackets.
Guitarist Jean Paul "Bluesy" Maunick is the creative force behind Incognito, and it was his strength of vision which kept the idea of British funk-jazz alive after the scene more or less collapsed in the mid-1980s. Maunick's writing/arranging skills were showcased on a pair of tunes he conceived for Maxi Priest's 1989 hit album, BONAFIDE, enabling him to re-tool Incognito in its present form.
"Bluesy" Maunick's arranging skills are heard to particular advantage on the acid jazz groove "Deep Waters," where he sets up a lean, infectious pulse for his tale of sensual surrender, as the vocalists and rhythm players trade figures back and forth in wave after wave of warm harmonies. The resulting music is smooth, sumptuous funk. Lead vocalist Maysa Leak's horn-like fluency and effortless sense of swing contribute mightily to the group sound, which is part of Incognito's appeal: while Leak, Mark Anthoni and Sarah Brown set the melodic direction for each song, the overall effect (as on the James Brown-inspired anthem "Talkin' Loud") is of free-spirited interplay and melodic give and take--their vocal harmonies are often used as a compliment to the horn and rhythm sections.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Incognito

Product Info

  • UPC: 731452203625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)