Patricia Barber A Distortion of Love

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
5 ratings
14 copies available
List Price: $14.98
Your Price: $13.48
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  PLG 512235

CD Details

  • Released: May 19, 1992
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • 1.Summertime
  • 2.Subway Station Number 5
  • 3.You Stepped Out Of A Dream
  • 4.Part Parallels
  • 5.Or Not To Be
  • 6.Yellow Car
  • 7.Yet Another In A Long Series
  • 8.I Never Went Away
  • 9.My Girl
  • 10.By Myself

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Patricia Barber (vocals, piano); Wolfgang Muthspiel (guitar); Marc Johnson (bass); Adam Nussbaum (drums, percussion).
Recorded on November 25-27 & 29, 1991, Includes liner notes by Neil Tesser.
Pianist and singer Patricia Barber's second album (and major-label debut) is a consistently interesting, but not always completely rewarding, array of original instrumentals, vocal standards, and surprise cover versions. The arrangement of "Summertime" that opens the program is eerie almost to the point of creepiness, and all the more effective for it: after a long instrumental prelude, Barber sings the lyrics over the most minimal bass-and-piano unison pedal point, her voice goosed with reverb and wailing softly like a ghost. "Subway Station #5," the original composition that follows, is nervous, jumpy, barely tonal, and moves niftily from a contrapuntal and polyrhythmic introduction into a straight swing section. The problem is that it lasts almost ten minutes, and by the seventh or eighth minute, its ideas seem pretty well played out. "Or Not to Be" and "Yet Another in a Long Series of Yellow Cars" suffer from similar treatment. But her singing on "You Stepped Out of a Dream" and, especially, her sweet and touching rendition of the soul classic "My Girl" are quietly spectacular. There's every reason to expect great things of her in the future. ~ Rick Anderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Patricia Barber

Product Info:

  • UPC: 731451223525
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item