Wanda Jackson The Best of the Classic Capitol Singles

The Best of the Classic Capitol Singles
1 rating
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  DQJW
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: Omnivore Recordings


  • 1.I Gotta Know
  • 2.Half as Good a Girl
  • 3.Hot Dog! That Made Him Mad
  • 4.Silver Threads and Golden Needles
  • 5.Let Me Explain
  • 6.Don'a Wan'a
  • 7.Cool Love
  • 8.Did You Miss Me?
  • 9.Fujiyama Mama
  • 10.No Wedding Bells for Joe
  • 11.Honey Bop
  • 12.Just a Queen for a Day
  • 13.Mean Mean Man
  • 14.(Every Time They Play) Our Song
  • 15.Rock Your Baby
  • 16.Sinful Heart
  • 17.Let's Have a Party
  • 18.Little Charm Bracelet
  • 19.Riot in Cell Block Number Nine
  • 20.Right or Wrong
  • 21.Funnel of Love
  • 22.In the Middle of a Heartache
  • 23.I'd Be Ashamed
  • 24.The Greatest Actor
  • 25.You Bug Me Bad
  • 26.But I Was Lying
  • 27.Sympathy
  • 28.This Should Go on Forever
  • 29.We Haven't a Moment to Lose

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Daniel Cooper.
Recording information: 02/28/1957; 03/01/1957; 04/07/1958; 04/09/1958; 04/10/1958; 04/20/1961; 04/26/1962; 06/08/1956; 09/17/1957; 09/20/1956; 10/28/1960; 10/29/1962; 10/30/1961; 11/02/1962.
Never mind the titular suggestion of cherry-picking: Omnivore's 2013 set The Best of the Classic Capitol Singles provides the A- and B-sides for the singles Wanda Jackson released on Capitol between 1956 and 1963 (her immortal 1960 45 "Let's Have a Party" was supported by "Cool Love," an A-side from 1957, which explains why this weighs in at an odd 29 tracks). These singles have been chronicled several times before -- Rhino released an excellent set called Rockin' in the Country in 1990, Ace focused on Wanda's rock and country on separate compilations -- but the closest antecedent to The Best of the Classic Capitol Singles is Capitol's 1996 Vintage Collections Series, which focused on the same time period and contains significant overlap with this disc, but Omnivore's collection is the superior compilation and the best single-disc Jackson collection that's ever been assembled. By progressing chronologically, this conveys Jackson's shift from country to rockabilly and back, along with illustrating how adept she was in both styles. Plus, at 29 tracks, The Best of the Classic Capitol Singles is exceptionally generous, providing an immersive introduction to Wanda Jackson's peak that also doubles as a definitive retrospective of this pioneering rocker. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Wanda Jackson

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 114,341
  • UPC: 816651013593
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)