The Seeds The Seeds

The Seeds
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  DQJJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: GNP Records


  • Buy for $1.291.Can't Seem to Make You Mine
  • Buy for $1.292.No Escape
  • Buy for $1.293.Lose Your Mind
  • Buy for $1.294.Evil Hoodoo
  • Buy for $1.295.Girl I Want You
  • Buy for $1.296.Pushin' Too Hard
  • Buy for $1.297.Try to Understand
  • Buy for $1.298.Nobody Spoil My Fun
  • Buy for $1.299.It's a Hard Life
  • Buy for $1.2910.You Can't Be Trusted
  • Buy for $1.2911.Excuse, Excuse
  • Buy for $1.2912.Fallin' in Love
  • Buy for $1.2913.She's Wrong
  • Buy for $1.2914.Daisy Mae [Take 1]
  • Buy for $1.2915.Dreaming of Your Love
  • Buy for $1.2916.Out of the Question [Version 1, Take 1]
  • Buy for $1.2917.Out of the Question [Version 1, Master]
  • Buy for $1.2918.Pushin' Too Hard [Take 1]
  • Buy for $1.2919.Girl I Want You [Alternate Overdub, Take 6A]
  • 20.Evil Hoodoo [Unedited Take and Intercut Section]
  • Buy for $1.2921.It's a Hard Life [Take 3]
  • Buy for $1.2922.Nobody Spoil My Fun [Alternate Overdub, Take 3A]

Product Description:

Personnel: Sky Saxon (vocals, harmonica, percussion); Jan Savage (guitar, background vocals); Daryl Hooper (melodica, piano, organ, keyboard bass, background vocals); Rick Andridge (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixers: Matt Pakucko; Alec Palao; Wally Sound.
Liner Note Author: Alec Palao.
Illustrator: Daryl Hooper.
As mid-'60s L.A. garage bands go, the Seeds were perhaps the most primitive, which isn't necessarily a virtue. Whereas the Standells had good lyrics, the Leaves could write pop, and Love was gifted beyond comparison, Sky Saxon and company had to settle for attitude and an unintended comicalness. Their debut record is just that. It's comprised of snotty boy-girl songs and teeters on the edge of musical ineptness, though it does contain the garage classic "Pushin' Too Hard" (whose arrangement is recycled at least once here). The other significant tune is "Can't Seem to Make You Mine," which features a repetitive, haunted-house guitar riff. The rest of the record, though fairly forgettable, still reinforces the truth that pure punk appeared long before the Sex Pistols. ~ Peter Kurtz

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Seeds

Product Info

  • UPC: 052824229228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)