Sarah Vaughan The Best of Sarah Vaughan [Pablo]

The Best of Sarah Vaughan [Pablo]
3 ratings
Price: $11.74
You Save: $0.24 (2% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  DQGW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1990
  • Label: Pablo


  • Buy for $0.991.I Gotta Right To Sing The Blues
  • Buy for $1.292.Lush Life
  • Buy for $1.293.Dindi
  • Buy for $0.994.From This Moment On
  • Buy for $0.995.You're Blase
  • Buy for $0.996.I've Got The World On A String
  • Buy for $0.997.Ill Wind
  • Buy for $0.998.All Too Soon
  • Buy for $0.999.In A Sentimental Mood
  • Buy for $1.2910.Midnight Sun

Product Description:

Personnel: Sarah Vaughan (vocals); Frank Wess (tenor saxophone); Jimmy Rowles, Mike Wofford, George Gaffney, Oscar Peterson (piano); Helio Delmiro, Bucky Pizzarelli, Joe Pass (guitar); Ray Brown (bass); Grady Tate, Louis Bellson (drums); Wilson Das Neves (percussion).
Count Basie Orchestra: Kenny Hing, Eric Dixon, Bobby Plater, Danny Turner, Johnny Williams (saxophone); Sonny Cohn, Frank Szabo, Willie Cook, Bob Summers, Dale Carley (trumpet); Mitchell "Booty" Wood, Bill Hughes Dennis Wilson, Grover Mitchell (trombone); George Gaffney (piano); Freddie Green (guitar); Andy Simkins (bass); Harold Jones (drums).
Recorded in Group IV Studios, Hollywood; RCA Studios, New York; and Rio De Janiero, Brazil, 1978-1981. Includes liner notes by Norman Granz and Philip Elwood.
Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1990, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
In her last years, Sarah Vaughan's recordings for Norman Granz and the Pablo label were well done and well-received overall, her albums of Brazilian music and the LP Crazy and Mixed Up topping the list. This collection features mostly ballads, sung pristinely, a little samba or bossa nova, two blues, a whole lot of the Count Basie Orchestra loaded with great soloists, and the hard swinging "From This Moment On," all on Vaughan's typical high emotional peaks. These period pieces from 1978-1979 are admittedly a small slice, but a good representation of Vaughan, leaving us on a high level. ~ Michael G. Nastos

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Sarah Vaughan

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 69,548
  • UPC: 025218041621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)