Santana Original Album Classics (5-CD)

Original Album Classics (5-CD)
2 ratings
12 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $24.65 Limited Time Only
List Price: $27.99
You Save: $3.34 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  X63V
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: March 30, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Sony BMG Europe

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Dealer / Spanish Rose
  • 2.Move On
  • 3.One Chain (Don't Make No Prison)
  • 4.Stormy
  • 5.Well All Right
  • 6.Open Invitation
  • 7.Life Is A Lady / Holiday
  • 8.The Facts of Love
  • 9.Wham!

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Marathon
  • 2.Lightning In The Sky
  • 3.Aqua Marine
  • 4.You Know That I Love You
  • 5.All I Ever Wanted
  • 6.Stand Up
  • 7.Runnin'
  • 8.Summer Lady
  • 9.Love
  • 10.Stay (Beside Me)
  • 11.Hard Time

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Changes
  • 2.E Papa R‚
  • 3.Primera Invasion
  • 4.Searchin'
  • 5.Over And Over
  • 6.Winning
  • 7.Tales Of Kilimanjaro
  • 8.The Sensitive Kind
  • 9.American Gypsy
  • 10.I Love You Much Too Much
  • 11.Brightest Star
  • 12.Hannibal

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.The Nile
  • 2.Hold On
  • 3.Night Hunting Time
  • 4.Nowhere To Run
  • 5.Nueva York
  • 6.Oxun (Oshun)
  • 7.Body Surfing
  • 8.What Does It Take (To Win Your Love)
  • 9.Let Me Inside
  • 10.Warrior
  • 11.Shango

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Veracruz
  • 2.She Can't Let Go
  • 3.Once It's Gotcha
  • 4.Love Is You
  • 5.Songs Of Freedom
  • 6.Deeper, Dig Deeper
  • 7.Praise
  • 8.Mandela
  • 9.Before We Go
  • 10.Victim of Circumstance

Product Description:

Personnel: Carlos Santana (vocals, guitar); Junior Wells (vocals, harp); Buddy Guy, Buddy Miles (vocals); Tom Coster (keyboards); Sterling (synthesizer, drum programming); Cory Lerios, Gregg Rolie (synthesizer); Bryan Bell (programming); Annie Stocking, Jeanie Tracy, Pamela Rose, Mark Keller (background vocals).
Photographer: Ken Friedman.
Arranger: Santana Band.
This second volume in Sony's EU Original Album Classics series looks at five albums over a ten-year period. The first four of these -- Inner Secrets, Marathon, Zebop, and Shango -- catch the band during a renaissance of singles and a decline in album sales in the marketplace. The first of these, issued in 1978, boasted three charting singles in "One Chain (Don't Make No Prison)" (number 59), "Stormy" (number 32), and a cover of Buddy Holly's "Well All Right" (number 69), done in the Blind Faith arrangement. Marathon, released in 1979, may not have sold as an album, but did score a hit with the Top 40 single "You Know That I Love You" (number 35). Zebop, issued in 1981 -- after Carlos Santana released his second solo album, Swing of Delight -- first hit the Hot 100 with "The Sensitive Kind" (number 59) written by Russ Ballard. "Winning" was the second single and it went to number 33 as the album entered into the Top Ten and went gold. Shango, from 1981, resulted in two more hit singles, "Hold On" (number 15) and "Nowhere to Run" (number 66). The final album in this set, Freedom, was released after the band took a long break. While they toured together, Carlos was making solo records for most of the '80s. This comeback album was a reunion of sorts and featured former members Tom Coster and Chester Thompson on keyboards. Even founding member Gregg Rolie made a guest appearance. Interestingly, this set also featured the talents of drummer Buddy Miles on vocals. The album failed to score any hits major or minor, but did end up in the Top 100 on the Billboard charts. This middle-period set documents Santana as they never were before or after -- as a singles outfit as interested in performing classics from the rock and R&B canon as they were in writing original material. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Santana

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 101,716
  • UPC: 886974455622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.32/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)