Duke Ellington Original Album Classics (3-CD)

Original Album Classics (3-CD)
4 ratings
Only 7 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.81 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $2.18 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  X63E
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: February 1, 2011
  • Label: Sony UK

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Such Sweet Thunder
  • 2.Sonnet For Caesar
  • 3.Sonnet To Hank Cinq
  • 4.Lady Mac
  • 5.Sonnet In Search Of A Moor
  • 6.The Telecasters
  • 7.Up And Down, Up And Down (I Will Lead Them Up And Down)
  • 8.Sonnet For Sister Kate
  • 9.The Star-Crossed Lovers (Aka Pretty Girl)
  • 10.Madness In Great Ones (Hamlet)
  • 11.Half The Fun (Aka Lately)
  • 12.Circle Of Fourths
  • 13.The Star-Crossed Lovers (Aka Pretty Girl) (Stereo LP Master)
  • 14.Circle Of Fourths (Stereo LP Master)
  • 15.Suburban Beauty (Master Take)
  • 16.A Flat Minor (Preferred Take)
  • 17.Cafe Au Lait (Preferred Take)
  • 18.Half The Fun (Aka Lately) (Alternate Take)
  • 19.Suburban Beauty (Alternate Take)
  • 20.A Flat Minor (Outtakes)
  • 21.Cafe Au Lait (Outtakes (Mono))
  • 22.Pretty Girl (Aka The Star-Crossed Lovers) (First Recording)
  • 23.Pause Track

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Snibor
  • 2.Boo-Dah
  • 3.Blood Count
  • 4.U.M.M.G.
  • 5.Charpoy
  • 6.After All
  • 7.The Intimacy Of The Blues
  • 8.Raincheck (Take 6)
  • 9.Day Dream
  • 10.Rock Skippin' At The Blue Note
  • 11.All Day Long
  • 12.Lotus Blossom
  • 13.Ocht O'clock Rock
  • 14.Raincheck (Take 4)
  • 15.Smada (Take 3)
  • 16.Smada (Take 4)
  • 17.Midriff
  • 18.My Little Brown Book
  • 19.Lotus Blossom (Test)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Tourist Point Of View
  • 2.Bluebird Of Delhi (Mynah)
  • 3.Isfahan
  • 4.Depk
  • 5.Mount Harissa
  • 6.Blue Pepper (Far East Of The Blues)
  • 7.Agra
  • 8.Amad
  • 9.Ad Lib On Nippon
  • 10.Tourist Point Of View (Take 4)
  • 11.Amad (Take 7)
  • 12.Bluebird Of Delhi (Take 8)
  • 13.Bluebird Of Delhi (Mynah) (Take 9)
  • 14.Isfahan (Take 2)
  • 15.Depk (Take 15)
  • 16.Mount Harissa (Take 4)

Product Description:

For the right price, this five-CD collection of Duke Ellington albums from the '50s is about as potent and diverse a product for this time period as you will find, given you don't already have them all on single discs. The less essential Hi-Fi Ellington Uptown, which was also reissued with the recording Blue Light, kicks off the set. The following three CDs -- Such Sweet Thunder, Black, Brown & Beige, and the heavy Otto Preminger movie soundtrack Anatomy of a Murder -- are among Ellington's finest of any time frame in his career. Some critics have dissed First Time!, which is a collaboration with the Count Basie Orchestra, but it remains unique and potent. Any Ellington lover would enjoy this as a present, and to have all of them in one package is simply magnificent. This comes highly recommended. ~ Michael G. Nastos

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Duke Ellington

Product Info

  • UPC: 886977397622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)