Lennie Niehaus Octet Lennie Niehaus, Volume 2: Zounds!

Lennie Niehaus, Volume 2: Zounds!
6 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  X633
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: OJC


  • 1.The Sermon
  • 2.How About You?
  • 3.Figure 8
  • 4.Patti Cake
  • 5.With the Wind and the Rain in Your Hair
  • 6.The Way You Look Tonight
  • 7.Have You Met Miss Jones?
  • 8.Four
  • 9.Night Life
  • 10.The Night We Called It a Day
  • 11.Blues for Susie
  • 12.Seaside

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Lennie Niehaus, Jack Montrose, Bob Gordon, Stu Williamson, Bob Enevoldsen, Lou Levy, Monty Budwig, Shelly Manne, Bill Perkins, Pepper Adams, Vincent De Rosa, Frank Rosolino, James McAllister, Red Mitchell, Mel Lewis.
Recorded between 1954 and 1956.
Personnel: Lennie Niehaus (alto saxophone); Jack Montrose, Bill Perkins (tenor saxophone); Pepper Adams, Bob Gordon (baritone saxophone); Stu Williamson (trumpet); Vincent DeRosa (French horn); Frank Rosolino (trombone); Bob Enevoldsen (valve trombone); Jimmy McAllister (tuba); Lou Levy (piano); Mel Lewis, Shelly Manne (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Phil DeLancie.
Liner Note Author: Arnold Shaw.
Recording information: Capitol, Hollywood, CA (08/23/1954-12/10/1956); Contemporary Studios, Los Angeles, CA (08/23/1954-12/10/1956).
Photographers: William Claxton; Lester Koenig.
This formerly rare Contemporary set was reissued on a 1997 OJC CD. Lennie Niehaus, best known for his scores for Clint Eastwood films in the 1980s and '90s, was an excellent cool-toned bop altoist back in the '50s who spent time working with Stan Kenton. For this album, he is heard on two different occasions providing arrangements and alto solos for octets. With such fine players as either Jack Montrose or Bill Perkins on tenor, Bob Gordon or Pepper Adams on baritone, and other top West Coast jazz musicians, Niehaus primarily performs cool jazz. The inventive charts (which on the later date utilize a French horn and a tuba) and the superior, concise solos make this a set well worth acquiring by fans of the West Coast jazz sound of the '50s. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Lennie Niehaus Octet

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 99,004
  • UPC: 025218189224
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)